http error 500 with cmsms 2.1.5 and php version 5.6.4

The place to talk about things that are related to CMS Made simple, but don't fit anywhere else.
Post Reply
dlen
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:32 pm

http error 500 with cmsms 2.1.5 and php version 5.6.4

Post by dlen »

Hello forists,

I had updated the site in question to 2.1.5 in oct 2016, and it worked smoothly. Without doing anything with the site, it went down to error 500 (internal server error) two days ago. Also, the admin space yields the same message. phpinfo() can be run from a small file, so php does still work somehow.

Now I am scratching my head and am lacking any idea, where to look. Maybe the provider changed some php-parameters?

I am thankful for any constructive hint where to look.
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: http error 500 with cmsms 2.1.5 and php version 5.6.4

Post by DIGI3 »

A 500 error will create a log entry. Check your PHP error logs.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
dlen
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: http error 500 with cmsms 2.1.5 and php version 5.6.4

Post by dlen »

Thanks for the answer.
the error log is full with many lines with the following message:

Got error 'PHP message: PHP Fatal error: Class 'PHPMailer' not found in /var/www/vhosts/roswitha-jacobi.de/httpdocs/lib/classes/class.cms_mailer.php on line 62\n'

Which is the same as I get when switching debug to 'true' in config.php.

in class.cms_mailer.php we find lines 59-62:

Code: Select all

    $dir = dirname(__DIR__).'/phpmailer/';
    require_once($dir.'/PHPMailerAutoload.php');

    $this->_mailer = new PHPMailer($exceptions);
This files does of course exist in the place where it should be, and I suppose it should somehow provide the class PHPMailer. This seems to be not the case for an unknown reason.

Does this make a bell ring at anybody reading this?

I suspect the provider having changed either the webserver version or some webserver parameters, but i am not sure.

Greetings from Berlin...
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: http error 500 with cmsms 2.1.5 and php version 5.6.4

Post by DIGI3 »

Sounds to me like mod_security or antivirus.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
dlen
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: http error 500 with cmsms 2.1.5 and php version 5.6.4

Post by dlen »

Thx.
I think I have no possibility to check this.
Interestingly, the following php yields an error 500 as well:

Code: Select all

<?php
  $version = apache_get_version();
  echo "$version\n";
?>
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1035
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: http error 500 with cmsms 2.1.5 and php version 5.6.4

Post by DIGI3 »

If your host won't tell you whether mod_security is installed or not, then find a new host.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
dlen
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: http error 500 with cmsms 2.1.5 and php version 5.6.4

Post by dlen »

Find a new host - that's exactly what I am going to do.
Thx for the time.
dlen
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:32 pm

Re: http error 500 with cmsms 2.1.5 and php version 5.6.4

Post by dlen »

FYI: I copied the whole site to a new host and got the same 500 error. So I decided to delete all files except the uploads directory and do a clean installation from scratch. I fed in the database again, installed the gallery module and some javascript hacks I had done with thickbox and alas! it worked.
Then I tried and moved the whole thing back to the old provider, and it worked as well.
So it was not some server parameters, apache versions or antivirus software, but some php files must have been modified. Maybe a botched up hack.
For a moment, before I had jquery got working again, I had seen strange CSS on the site, with a lot of strange URLs and root: selectors in it, in the <head> section.
Post Reply

Return to “The Lounge”