Can´t login as admin Topic is solved

For questions and problems with the CMS core. This board is NOT for any 3rd party modules, addons, PHP scripts or anything NOT distributed with the CMS made simple package itself.
Post Reply
DoctorAsp
New Member
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2023 8:08 am

Can´t login as admin

Post by DoctorAsp »

Hello forum
I have inherited a website from a friend of mine who died recently. The website is running CMSMS version 1.10.3 (yes, I know - from 2011!).
Suddenly I can't log in as admin. I get a browser message: "The information you're about to submit is not secure" in both Chrome, Edge and Firefox.
Could it be because the login page is trying to redirect to an "insecure" HTTP page? The website is running HTTPS.
How do I fix this? I do have access to the server and the database.

I also need to start figuring out how to upgrade, but I don't dare start when I can't log in as admin.

/Tommy
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Can´t login as admin

Post by DIGI3 »

You'll likely need to force the login page to NOT use https (using an .htaccess file in the /admin folder). If I remember correctly, 1.10-ish versions had some mixed content which never used to be that important, but browsers now won't load it. Once you get it to 1.12ish I think you'd be fine going back to https.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
DoctorAsp
New Member
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2023 8:08 am

Re: Can´t login as admin

Post by DoctorAsp »

Thx for your reply. I'm not an expert in .htaccess, so after a lot of googling, I found this string, which unfortunately didn't work:

Header edit Location ^http://(.*)$ https://$1

/Tommy
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Can´t login as admin

Post by DIGI3 »

It should be something like:
RewriteCond %{HTTPS} on
RewriteRule (.*) http://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [L]

The other option is to remove any forced https from the root level .htaccess or elsewhere (some hosts have options in their control panel) then making sure to use an incognito session and http:// in the url.

If you can't get it to work, you may need to hire a developer to help. See my signature for a link to our hire-a-dev program.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
User avatar
Dr.CSS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Can´t login as admin

Post by Dr.CSS »

You could also set it in the config.php...

$config['root_url'] = 'http://yoursite.com';
$config['ssl_url'] = 'http://yoursite.com';
DoctorAsp
New Member
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2023 8:08 am

Re: Can´t login as admin

Post by DoctorAsp »

After some fiddling, I finally got this to work:

$config['root_url'] = 'https://yoursite.com';
$config['ssl_url'] = 'https://yoursite.com';

So now I´m back in business - Thank you guys!
Post Reply

Return to “CMSMS Core”