Front End User

Have a question or a suggestion about a 3rd party addon module or plugin?
Let us know here.
RobV10

Front End User

Post by RobV10 »

Let me start by saying i'm not a programmer, coder, or expert website builder. I've done a few and I can usually figure my way through creating pages. For CMSMS, I am not understanding how it handles user logins. I can't imagine that it would rely upon a 3-party module to handle that but I can't find anything in the core.
I installed MAMS but it's just not "clicking" for me. If I had some examples I could reverse engineer it to fit my application. In essence I just want a standard way to limiting my content to member users.

If anyone could send me some examples to handle simple operations such as login page with a redirect to a member page or how to handle the template forms, I'd be eternally grateful.

On a side note, does anyone have this issue ... wen creating a new user in MAMS and I press "Next", it doesn't go to the User Properties page. It just goes back to the Member Area page.
rotezecke
Power Poster
Power Poster

Re: Front End User

Post by rotezecke »

have you created a user group? you need at least one group before you can create users as far as I remember.
RobV10

Post by RobV10 »

Yes I have.

I've been playing with the FrontEndUser and MAMS modules but they aren't quite clear on the syntax to use in the template.
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member

Post by DIGI3 »

I would stick with MAMS, it's actively supported and functional. FEU was abandoned by its author some time ago. The core doesn't have front end login functionality, we design the core to be lean and, generally, only contain capabilities used by all sites.

Starting with the issue of clicking next taking you back to the Members Area page, I'd check the following:
-be sure Mod Security is disabled (you may have to confirm with your host)
-check your php version - I'm not sure MAMS supports 8.x yet
-check your error logs