can I archive files with links?

Have a question or a suggestion about a 3rd party addon module or plugin?
Let us know here.
beeswax

can I archive files with links?

Post by beeswax »

Hi, I'm new to CMSMS and this forum, and I'm using it to develop our school's website - http://www.hotsoup.co.uk/cms/index.php/home as you can see from the Letters Home link I want to provide parental access to, duh, letters home. I was hoping to be able to provide a linked archive of past letters so that parents could check them as well. Is there any way of doing this automatically rather than creating a page and linking to those files manually?
thanks,
beeswax
cyberman

Re: can I archive files with links?

Post by cyberman »

Welcome on planet CMS made simple  :) ...
beeswax wrote: Is there any way of doing this automatically rather than creating a page and linking to those files manually?
Hmm, it sounds like news module can do it for you. Create a category for every year in admin panel, for instance year7. Enter all letters in news modules admin panel. Then insert this

Code: Select all

{cms_module module="news" category="year7"}
to page "Year 7" so all letters from year7 will shown there. So you can do it for each page/each year. You can also sort it with many options ...

Hope that helps. If you need more help please ask  :). Perhaps it would be useful too to customize the templates to your needs.
Last edited by cyberman on Fri Jun 09, 2006 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
beeswax

Post by beeswax »

cyberman wrote:Perhaps it would be useful too to customize the templates to your needs.
there's an awful lot that needs doing on the site (it's in my own private webspace at the moment), templates, style sheets and more. I've only had CMSMS up and running for 3 days so I'm still feeling my way round. a lot of the time I've just been hacking code and dropping it in where needed, tho' I'm sure there must be an easier way! thanks for your help, I'll try it over the weekend.
beeswax