formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Have a question or a suggestion about a 3rd party addon module or plugin?
Let us know here.
uptoeleven
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 10:30 pm
Location: London, England

formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by uptoeleven »

Hi,

I am having difficulty reordering form elements in formbuilder - it seems to be ignoring my request once I have hit the "Save" button.

To try to diagnose I have installed a fresh copy of CMSMS on my server with just a single module installed - formbuilder. Problem occurs when changing form element order (If I wanted name below email address instead of above, for example).

Now going to try on debug and checking apache blogs.

Simon
User avatar
kerryshamblin
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:21 pm

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by kerryshamblin »

I am experiencing the same thing, with a fresh install of 1.8.2 and Formbuilder 0.6.3. That is the only module I have installed. I'm working on a server I'm not familiar with (GoDaddy). Please let us know if you figure it out!

Thank you.
mr.bacan

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by mr.bacan »

This seems to be a problem associated with CMSMS 1.8.2, because I'm having the same problem.
I have version 1.7.1 installed on the same server and the module is working just fine.

Could someone please post a way around this issue?

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
ITF
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Florida

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by ITF »

Yeah, I'm having the same problem. CMSMS V1.8.2
New install of FormBuilder. Doesn't save reorder of form elements.

Please let us know how/when you solve this. Thanks.
---------------------------------------------------------
ITF - "I understand now. The circumstances of ones birth are irrelevant. It is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are."
Jos
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 4017
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:03 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by Jos »

I guess Formbuilder got some code copied from Gallery, because with Gallery the same issue was reported. Here's how it is solved for Gallery: http://dev.cmsmadesimple.org/bug/view/5309
User avatar
ITF
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Florida

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by ITF »

Jos wrote: I guess Formbuilder got some code copied from Gallery, because with Gallery the same issue was reported. Here's how it is solved for Gallery: http://dev.cmsmadesimple.org/bug/view/5309
I tried it but maybe I did something wrong. I edited  modules/FormBuilder/classes/Form.class.php

Around line 1528

Code: Select all

$mod->smarty->assign('fb_hidden', $mod->CreateInputHidden($id,'fbrp_form_op',$mod->Lang('updated')).$mod->CreateInputHidden($id,'fbrp_sort', '', 'id="fbrp_sort"'));
Changed to

Code: Select all

$mod->smarty->assign('fb_hidden', $mod->CreateInputHidden($id, 'fbrp_form_op', '<div class="hidden" id="sort">' .$mod->Lang('updated')).$mod->CreateInputHidden($id, 'fbrp_sort','','') . '</div>');
Didn't work
Did I change the wrong file/line?
Thanks for chiming in, Jos!
---------------------------------------------------------
ITF - "I understand now. The circumstances of ones birth are irrelevant. It is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are."
Jos
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 4017
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 8:03 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by Jos »

It looks like the right line, but the change isn't that good  ;)

better change it to

Code: Select all

$mod->smarty->assign('fb_hidden', $mod->CreateInputHidden($id,'fbrp_form_op',$mod->Lang('updated')).'<div class="hidden" id="fbrp_sort">'.$mod->CreateInputHidden($id,'fbrp_sort', '').'</div>');
But this is not the only line that should be changed.. there is also some javascript refering to #fbrp_sort, that  should now refer to #fbrp_sort input

*edit*
I found the javascript in file includes/fb_jquery.js

*edit 2*
I noticed this is already fixed in SVN by Stikki in a slightly different way. He did not use a surrounding div but simply turned the id into a class.
Last edited by Jos on Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
kerryshamblin
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:21 pm

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by kerryshamblin »

Thanks, Jos! I've implemented your solution and the problem is solved.
User avatar
ITF
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Florida

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by ITF »

Just got a chance to make the edit also.

Thanks for pointing out the proper change, Jos!
---------------------------------------------------------
ITF - "I understand now. The circumstances of ones birth are irrelevant. It is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are."
mr.bacan

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by mr.bacan »

Hello, I made the edits without any luck  :'(

I'm still having the same problem. Also the form doesn't send any data nor validates, it just sends you to the index when you hit the send button.

The website is http://www.festejosybrindis.com/index.php (It's in Spanish)

I know I made the changes as mentioned, so I think I'll have to wait for the fixed version of this module.

Thanks for your time anyway :)
nicmare
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 1150
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:55 am
Location: Berlin

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by nicmare »

problem solved. browse the forge for the latest release of formbuilder.
vedat
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 12:13 pm

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by vedat »

I thing problem is not solved

Cmsms 1.7.1 and formbuilder 0.6.4 reordering is not work
User avatar
ITF
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Florida

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by ITF »

vedat wrote: I thing problem is not solved

Cmsms 1.7.1 and formbuilder 0.6.4 reordering is not work
The two line changes should work. Let us know how you did it, maybe we can help since it worked for us?

Mine was a clean install of Toliara 1.8.2 and formbuilder 0.6.3. After code change, it worked fine.
Maybe the 0.6.3 works for 1.71

and 0.6.4 made the code changes to 1.8.2?
I'm not so sure, but any additional information could help us in helping you guys.
---------------------------------------------------------
ITF - "I understand now. The circumstances of ones birth are irrelevant. It is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are."
Andiministrator

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by Andiministrator »

I still have this problem. I use CMS 1.8.2. I have the newest version (last checkout today) from SVN, but it doesn't works. I tried to use your modifications but it still doesn't works. Any other idea?
uptoeleven
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 10:30 pm
Location: London, England

Re: formbuilder unable to reorder form elements

Post by uptoeleven »

which version of formbuilder? The problem is with formbuilder as far as I know...
Post Reply

Return to “Modules/Add-Ons”