• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: [open] Template error after upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:57 am 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:47 pm
Posts: 100
Location: Lorient (France)
Try an update from 1.11.12 to beta after uninstalling all the modules except those of the core.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: [open] Template error after upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 7:48 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:51 pm
Posts: 89
archeo wrote:
Try an update from 1.11.12 to beta after uninstalling all the modules except those of the core.


I have just done this, I downloaded 1.11.12 and extracted it so I could see which modules were listed in the modules directory, and I uninstalled and removed all the modules from my own CMSMS installation which were not in core.

But the error remains post-upgrade:


Code:
[Thu Feb 19 19:43:45 2015] [error] [client 192.168.1.3] PHP Fatal error:  Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 130968 bytes) in /var/www/lib/classes/class.cms_config.php on line 496


So it appears it's not a third party module issue, but something else.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Template error after upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 9:07 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 1728
calguy1000 wrote:
Care to share the template?
That would have helped some... If you can...

_________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary... and those who don't."
* by the way: English is NOT my native language (sorry for any mistakes...).


Code of Conduit | CMSMS Docs
Help Support CMSMS
My developer Page on the Forge | Yet another blog about CMSMS

GeekMoot 2015 in Ghent, Belgium: I was there!
GeekMoot 2016 in Leicester, UK: I was there!



Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: [open] Template error after upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:21 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:51 pm
Posts: 89
I started randomly deleting tags in the template until the page started working, it's the menu tag causing issues, because when I deleted both my menu tags, the page loaded again. I will switch the menu tags to navigator and mess around with attributes to see if I can find anything more out.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: [open] Template error after upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 11:52 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:51 pm
Posts: 89
Solved!

On my 1.11 installation, my site template and menu template had the same name. Post-upgrade to 2.0, the menu broke and the site failed to load. Perhaps the menu template was trying to load the site template instead of the menu template, which would have loaded the menu template in a recursive loop. That would certainly account for the memory being exhausted.

I have now given my menu template in 1.11 a different name. I performed another upgrade to 2.0 and it worked fine.

Hope that helps.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: [open] Template error after upgrade
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2015 5:36 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Posts: 7952
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada
Yes. If you have duplicately named templates you will have problems with upgrading.

i.e: If your page template is named 'Foo' and inside that page template you call {menu template='Foo'} there will be problems.

The upgrade routine will rename your MenuManager templates to something like 'MM-Foo' and your News templates to 'News-Summary-Foo', etc. so your templates will not be lost. The upgrade routine will also attempt to warn you that there may be difficulties, because it had to rename some templates.

However, because 'a template is just a template' and the template type stuff is just a loose association. the {menu template='Foo'} tag would re-load the page template and cause infinite recursion. This could result in either a timeout, or out of memory, or stack overflow issues, or a bunch of other things when rendering the page.

There is no good way to solve this issue. Because we do not (as a matter of policy) touch your template's content on upgrade. And even if we did, it would be error prone.

Not every site will upgrade cleanly.

_________________
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
A2 Hosting