Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

For questions and problems with the CMS core. This board is NOT for any 3rd party modules, addons, PHP scripts or anything NOT distributed with the CMS made simple package itself.
Post Reply
antibart
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:29 am

Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by antibart »

Hi,

this might not be an issue, more a case of converting, so I better explain what happens:

1. A client sent me some jpg.

2. It is not possible to upload them in the TinyMCE File Manager. The preloading-animation never ends.

3. But it is possible to upload them with the cms file manager.

4. After saving the file "for web" in Adobe Photoshop everything is alright. I can upload them in tinyMCE too.

So what could be wrong with those original files that TinyMCE is struggling around? It is not the size of the files.
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by DIGI3 »

Probably the thumbnail conversion or something - have you checked your error logs to see if there's any clues?
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
antibart
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:29 am

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by antibart »

DIGI3 wrote:Probably the thumbnail conversion or something - have you checked your error logs to see if there's any clues?
No errors reported. And I deactivated thumbnail converting temporarily.

And as I said: Only the original jpg-files sent by the guy have this problem. Other images work. And as soon as I save his pics for web with Photoshop: they are able to be uploaded.

But that is not a solution: He has tons of images and wants to upload by himself.
User avatar
Dr.CSS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12678
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by Dr.CSS »

What file size are they..?
Check ver. CMSMS, PHP, server OS, in System Information page.
Default content http://multiintech.com/defaultcontent/
People are Wonderful
Business is Great
Life is Terrific
Ever wonder what happened to the Album module? Well it is alive and well.
http://album.multiintech.com/
Image
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by DIGI3 »

It's probably going to be easier to figure out why the images are unique before trying to find/fix issues with TinyMCE's upload method. The files might have the wrong extension or filetype, which Photoshop and File Manager are able to work around. It could also be aspect ratio, compression, rotation. What's different about the images he's providing? How is he sourcing them?

Anything in the console during the upload?

As DrCss mentioned it could be file size, although I don't think Tiny uses a different limitation than file manager does - I would think it's the same php setting.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
antibart
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:29 am

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by antibart »

DIGI3 wrote:It's probably going to be easier to figure out why the images are unique before trying to find/fix issues with TinyMCE's upload method.
That is why I started this thread. How can I check this out? What can be different from other jpg what TinyMCE makes struggling?
DIGI3 wrote:
As DrCss mentioned it could be file size, although I don't think Tiny uses a different limitation than file manager does - I would think it's the same php setting.
It is not the file size. I've tried much larger pics and it worked.
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by DIGI3 »

I gave you some clues in my comment - find out how he's sourcing them. Is he taking pictures on his phone? Using an app? Downloading from a browser? How? Right click and save? Which browser? Is there a way we can reproduce this workflow so we can test/fix?

What about looking at the metadata of the file before you resave from photoshop and after - anything strange or different there? (in Windows, right click on the jpg > properties > details)

Was there anything in the console during upload? Press F12 and go to 'console' before starting the upload, and see if anything shows up. It may help.

Once you get a bit more information, you might be able to search for a fix or workaround with TinyMCE. Perhaps there's a configuration setting that can be changed for your specific issue. When I do a
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
antibart
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:29 am

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by antibart »

He is scanning old photographies and docs with a mac and using PS CS 3 or 4 to edit.

the details of the pics are not quite different from others. The only difference is the resolution of 72dpi instead of 96dpi in the "web saved" files. But that really does not matter.

Console reports "Media could not be played. No decoders for requested formats: image / jpeg, image / jpeg". But that appears with working uploads too.
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by DIGI3 »

That sounds like an encoding issue, perhaps a mimetype not configured correctly on the server. Your host/server admin may be able to help with that. Even though the messages appear on files that work, it's still a clue that perhaps something isn't configured correctly - that's not a normal message to get.

If it can't be fixed on the server side, perhaps he can check his export settings in Photoshop, or simply save in a different file format (png, for example). I'd also make sure the files are rgb and not cmyk or any other colour space, and don't contain any alpha channels or anything. Save for web would fix that but just saving might not.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
antibart
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:29 am

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by antibart »

DIGI3 wrote:or simply save in a different file format (png, for example).
I think it would be enough if he would save the files "for web". But this is hard to explain ... he has got tons of images...

Thanks for your input anyway...
antibart
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:29 am

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by antibart »

Just to complete this:
DIGI3 wrote:That sounds like an encoding issue, perhaps a mimetype not configured correctly on the server. Your host/server admin may be able to help with that. Even though the messages appear on files that work, it's still a clue that perhaps something isn't configured correctly - that's not a normal message to get.
I checked it on five or six different hosts and the message appears on all of them.
johnboyuk1
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:09 pm

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by johnboyuk1 »

Could it be the bit depth? This is just a random guess but I've had general issues with files (not specifically to do with CMSMS) before because of this ... if you open the image in photoshop and look under'image > mode> and see if it says 8bits ... compare the settings in here with the ones that do work

just a guess...
antibart
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:29 am

Re: Problem with some jpg with the tinymce file manager

Post by antibart »

johnboyuk1 wrote:if you open the image in photoshop and look under'image > mode> and see if it says 8bits ...
Thank you. Yes, it says 8 Bit. But in the meantime all broken images are re-converted anyway.
Post Reply

Return to “CMSMS Core”