The major upgrade (10 years)

For questions and problems with the CMS core. This board is NOT for any 3rd party modules, addons, PHP scripts or anything NOT distributed with the CMS made simple package itself.
metscore

The major upgrade (10 years)

Post by metscore »

Hello,

I recently "inherited" a site, owned by a racketball club I joined, where the current version of CMS is 1.8.2 (Yes, that one from 2010).

I'm a beginner at CMS, but since the web hotel is in the process of forcing an upgrade to PHP 7.1 our site needs to adhere to this too.
The site (http://www.lundssquash.se/) is fairly basic with not too many modules (probably no extra out of the standard ones) as far as I can tell.

My questions are, what are the potential pitfalls that I should try to avoid when upgrading? Is there anything specific that I should do when upgrading to 2.2.8 from a version that is 8 years old?
Any hints or tips that would make this transition fairly smooth are highly appreciated !

King reagards
Magnus
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member

Re: The major upgrade (10 years)

Post by DIGI3 »

We've seen a lot older, 1.8.2 is not that bad :)

Follow the directions at https://docs.cmsmadesimple.org/upgrading/old-versions step by step, and make backups at each stage.

Other than what's documented there, the main things that foil upgrades are old and unsupported modules. Have a look through module manager, and for any non-core module, look on the Forge to see if there's recent updates. If not, check to see if there are alternatives (e.g., ListIt can be migrated to LISE). Failing that, you will probably want to remove them and come up with some alternate method.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
metscore

Post by metscore »

Thanks for your answer DIGI3 !
DIGI3 wrote:We've seen a lot older, 1.8.2 is not that bad :)
Oh, I thought I was going to stand out as the worst guy ever. ;D