Problems with activating my own template

For questions and problems with the CMS core. This board is NOT for any 3rd party modules, addons, PHP scripts or anything NOT distributed with the CMS made simple package itself.
Locked
kimmbob
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:43 pm

Problems with activating my own template

Post by kimmbob »

Hey there,
I've been trying to make a very simple, non-responsive template. I'm done so far, but I can seem to get it to work within CMSMS. I used the Smartytags from the Minimal tempate that was already in there, I thought, that would be the simplest way to start.

I get:

Alert
Sorry, but it does not appear that there are any usable page templates for the selected design


I created new a new template (hilde_poi):

Code: Select all

{process_pagedata}
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<__html>
<head>
	<title>{sitename} - {title}</title>
	{metadata}
	{cms_stylesheet}
</head>
</__body>

	
	<div class="container">
		<header id="main-header">
		<img style="float:right; margin-right:5px; padding:10px;" src="logo.png">
			<h1>Header test</h1>
			
			Underscore
		</header>
	
		<nav id="navbar">
			{* Start Navigation *}
			<div style="float: left; width: 25%;">
				{Navigator loadprops=0 template='minimal_menu'}
			</div>
			{* End Navigation *}<br><br>
			Breadcrumps > are not > yet > active
		</nav>
	
		<section id="main">
			{* Start Content *}
			<div>
				<h2>{title}</h2>
			{content} 
			</div>
			{* End Content *}
		</section>
		
		<aside id="sidebar1">
			<p>Lorem isaum idsf dsfwedgg sdwgs</p>
		</aside>
		
		<aside id="sidebar2">
			<p>Lorem Ipsum:</p>
		</aside>
	</div>
<__body>
</__html>
And a new CSS (hilde_css):

Code: Select all

html {
    height: 1080px;
	width:1920px;
}

body{
	height: 100%;
	background: linear-gradient(290deg, #a8e063,#6ab023,#56ab2f);
	color:#FFFFFF;
	font-size:20px;
	margin:0;

}

h1 {
    	margin:10px 0;
}

a {
    color:#ffffff;
		text-decoration:none;
		font-weight:900;
}

.container{
	width:1880px;
	margin:auto;
	overflow:hidden;
}

#main-header{
	background:rgba(0,0,0,0.2);
	border-left:5px white solid;
	padding-left:20px;
		padding-top:3px;
		padding-bottom:10px;
	margin-top:20px;
	margin-bottom:20px;
	margin-left:0;
	margin-right:0;
}

#navbar{
	background:rgba(0,0,0,0.2);
	border-left:5px white solid;
	padding:10px 20px;
	margin:10px 0;

}

#navbar a{
	font-size:22px;
}

#main{
	background:rgba(0,0,0,0.2);
	float:left;
	width:1316px;
	height:780px;
	border-left:5px white solid;
	padding-left:20px;
	margin:10px 0;
}

#sidebar1{
	background:rgba(0,0,0,0.2);
	float:right;
	width:490px;
	height:380px;
	border-left:5px white solid;
	padding-left:20px;
	margin:10px 0;
}

#sidebar2{
	background:rgba(0,0,0,0.2);
	float:right;
	width:490px;
	height:380px;
	border-left:5px white solid;
	padding-left:20px;
	margin:10px 0;
}
Then I created a new design (hilde_design), linked it to the tempates hilde_poi and minimal_menu and to the css hilde_css

But when I try to change the template for a content item, it gives me the afore mentioned error.
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1609
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Problems with activating my own template

Post by DIGI3 »

Are you sure you made the template "Core::Page" type, and not something else by mistake?
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
kimmbob
New Member
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:43 pm

Re: Problems with activating my own template

Post by kimmbob »

Thank you, that was my mistake. I had it set to Core::Generic, now it works fine!

Took me two days to set it up and built a custom template. I havend done any webdesign etc stuff in five years now, so thats pretty good. I think CMSMS is really pretty straight forward. I like that!
Locked

Return to “CMSMS Core”