Page 1 of 1

[solved] News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:43 am
by luya
Greetings,
I have encountered an issue with the news module. After applying {news} on home page and selected the article, the layout broke only to display text mode. Here is the code I used inside summary_news templated based on Simplex.

Code: Select all

{strip}

<!-- .news-summary wrapper -->
<article class='news-summary'>
<span class='heading'><span>News</span></span>
        <ul class='category-list cf'>
        {foreach from=$cats item='node'}
        {if $node.depth > $node.prevdepth}
            {repeat string='<ul>' times=$node.depth-$node.prevdepth}
        {elseif $node.depth < $node.prevdepth}
            {repeat string='</li></ul>' times=$node.prevdepth-$node.depth}
            </li>
            {elseif $node.index > 0}</li>
            {/if}
            <li{if $node.index == 0} class='first'{/if}>
        {if $node.count > 0}
                <a href='{$node.url}'>{$node.news_category_name}</a>{else}<span>{$node.news_category_name} </span>{/if}
        {/foreach}
        {repeat string='</li></ul>' times=$node.depth-1}</li>
        </ul>
    {foreach from=$items item='entry'}
    <!-- .news-article (wrapping each article) -->
    <section class='news-article'>
    <a href='{$entry->moreurl}' title='{$entry->title|cms_escape:htmlall}'>
        <header>
            {CGSmartImage filter_croptofit="256,180,c" quality='65' src="{$entry->file_location}/{$entry->fieldsbyname.Images->value}" alt="{$entry->title}"}
            <h2>{$entry->title|cms_escape}</h2>     
             <div class='meta cf'>
                <time class='date' datetime='{$entry->postdate|date_format:'%Y-%m-%d'}'>
                    <span class='day'> {$entry->postdate|date_format:'%d'} </span>
                    <span class='month'> {$entry->postdate|date_format:'%b'} </span>
                </time>
                <span class='author'> {$author_label} {$entry->author} </span>
                <span class='category'> {$category_label} {$entry->category}</span>
            </div>
        </header>
        {if $entry->summary}
            <p>{eval var=$entry->summary|strip_tags}</p>
            <span class='more'>{$entry->morelink} →</span>
        {else if $entry->content}
            <p>{eval var=$entry->content|strip_tags}</p>
        {/if}
    </a></section>
    <!-- .news-article //-->
    {/foreach}
        <!-- news pagination -->
        {if $pagecount > 1}
        <span class='paginate'>
            {if $pagenumber > 1}
                {$firstpage} {$prevpage}
            {/if}
                {$pagetext} {$pagenumber} {$oftext} {$pagecount}
            {if $pagenumber < $pagecount}
                {$nextpage} {$lastpage}
            {/if}
        </span>
        {/if}
</article>
<!-- .news-summary //-->

{/strip}
Inside the article (displayed link: ;http://localhost/~luya/cms/index.php/ne ... -test.html) the logo leading to the root page is now ;http://localhost/~luya/cms/index.php/news/3/60 instead of ;http://localhost/~luya/cms/. I think I encountered a bug. Does anyone know what happened?

Here is my current template layout

Code: Select all

{strip}
{process_pagedata} <!-- Adds page specific metadata to the page -->
{MleCMS action='init'}
{cms_lang_info assign='nls'}
{/strip}
    
<!doctype html>
<__html lang="{$nls->htmlarea()}"> 
<head>
<title>{title} | {sitename}</title> <!-- Title of the page | Site name from Global Settings -->
<meta name='viewport' content='initial-scale=1.0 maximum-scale=1.0 user-scalable=no' />
<meta name='HandheldFriendly' content='true' />
{metadata} <!-- Adds Global Metadata to the page -->
{cms_stylesheet} <!-- Adds attached stylesheets to the page -->
{* learning IE lower then Version 9 some html5 *}
	<!--[if lt IE 9]>
	<__script__ src="//html5shiv.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/html5.js"></__script>
	<![endif]-->   
</head>
    	 
</__body>
<header role="banner">
<div class="container centered">
<div class="ads">[..insert advertisment...]</div>
<hgroup>
<h1>
<a href='{root_url}' title='{sitename}'>
<img src='{uploads_url}/images/cwlogo-a.png' width='379' height='90' alt='{sitename}' />
</a>
</h1><!-- .logo //-->
 <!-- Site name from Global Settings -->
<p>For the Woman of Success, Style & Substance</p>
</hgroup>
 </div>
</header>
     
<nav role="navigation">
{menu number_of_levels="1"} <!-- Show all the menu buttons -->
</nav>
     
<div id="main-content" class="container centered"> 
<section id="content">
<!-- h2>{title}</h2 --> <!-- Title of the page -->
<article role="main">
{content} <!-- Page content -->
</article><!-- end [role="main"] -->

</section>
     
<aside>
{content block=second_content label="My second content block"} <!-- Create a second content block -->
{global_content name='social-network'}
{global_content name='videoclip'}
</aside>
</div> <!-- end #main-content -->
     
<footer>
<div class="container centered">
{global_content name="footer"} <!-- Extract all footer code to a global content block -->
</div>
</footer>
<__body>
</__html>

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:28 am
by luya
Here is a screenshot of rendering issue after clicking an article from news module

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:46 am
by manuel
Dear Luya,
Here is my current template layout
I can't see any {news} tag in this template?

If you are showing the news detail on a specific page, verify that page has stylesheets associated with it.

I don't know if you are using template inheritance, but every template needs it's own associated stylesheets. They are not inherited from the main stylesheet.

Greetings,
Manuel

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:48 pm
by luya
Hi Manuel,
The {news} tag is located on the home page associated with the template.
See the pictures.

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 5:36 am
by Dr.CSS
Do you actually have a page called News, look at the page source to see if the paths/links to the CSS is correct...

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:47 am
by manuel
Dear Luya,

As Mark said: Please verify the presence of the stylesheets for the page without the styles :)
As you have specified the detailpage to be "news", that's the page you need to check. (does it exist & what template/stylesheets are being used for that page)

Greetings,
Manuel

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:20 pm
by luya
Dr.CSS and Manuel:
News page is already created attached with the template (Diversity in this case), there is currently no content other than commented tag. Do I need to add a news tag inside new page too?

Greetings,
Luya

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:24 pm
by Dr.CSS
You don't really need the {news} tag on that page but most do put it there as it is a News page, but if you hide it from the menu and have nothing in it except the <!-- comment --> it should work fine...

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:11 am
by manuel
Dear Luya,
The index.php should indeed not be present in the URL.
Please verify that you have set up Pretty URL's correctly:

In the config:

Code: Select all

$config['url_rewriting'] = 'mod_rewrite';
+ use the contents of the "doc/htaccess.txt" file for your .htaccess file
(don't forget to change "RewriteBase /")

Also try manually visiting the "http://localhost/~luya/cms/news/3/60/Another-test.html" URL

Greetings,
Manuel

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:37 am
by luya
Thanks for the clarification, Dr.CSS.
Manuel,
The config.php now uses

Code: Select all

$config['url_rewriting'] = 'mod_rewrite';
Unfortunately, once mod_rewrite is enabled, the page returns to not-found. Looking at the preview page inside news article, here is the traceback.

Code: Select all

#0 /home/luya/public_html/cms/lib/classes/class.Smarty_CMS.php(324): Smarty_Internal_TemplateBase->fetch('string:?<base h...', 'p60', NULL, NULL, false, false, false)
#1 /home/luya/public_html/cms/plugins/function.metadata.php(63): Smarty_CMS->fetch('string:?<base h...')
#2 /home/luya/public_html/cms/tmp/templates_c/931e1e9eac676a7613090088c9d8b4df6c1f1c50.tpl_head.24.php(32): smarty_function_metadata(Array, Object(Smarty_Internal_Template))
#3 /home/luya/public_html/cms/lib/smarty/sysplugins/smarty_internal_templatebase.php(180): content_510baac193da29_96759361(Object(Smarty_Internal_Template))
#4 /home/luya/public_html/cms/lib/classes/class.Smarty_CMS.php(324): Smarty_Internal_TemplateBase->fetch('tpl_head:24', 'p60', NULL, NULL, false, false, false)
#5 /home/luya/public_html/cms/index.php(239): Smarty_CMS->fetch('tpl_head:24')
#6 {main}
Here is the message (see also attached picture)

Code: Select all

Invalid compiled template for 'string:
<base href="http://localhost/~luya/cms/" />
<meta name="Generator" content="CMS Made Simple - Copyright (C) 2004-12 Ted Kulp. All rights reserved." />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
 
{* Add code here that should appear in the metadata section of all new pages *}'

Re: News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 3:00 am
by luya
The issue turned out to be local server related from my laptop as I uploaded CMSMS into the server displaying no issue. For now I set this post as solved until the problem occurs.

Re: [solved] News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:47 pm
by Dr.CSS
If you are trying pretty URLs on an xampp type install where the link is localhost/somefolder you need to use the RewriteBase /somefolder in htaccess...

In your case RewriteBase /~luya/cms/

Re: [solved] News module: broken return to homepage

Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:20 am
by luya
Greatly noted! =)