[solved] Default content block not at top in page edit

For questions and problems with the CMS core. This board is NOT for any 3rd party modules, addons, PHP scripts or anything NOT distributed with the CMS made simple package itself.
Post Reply
ottoreck
New Member
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 6:04 pm

[solved] Default content block not at top in page edit

Post by ottoreck »

Hi. I'm running CMS Made Simple 1.10.3. I'm using PHP 5.3.2, and MySQL 5.1.44. This is all working with Apache 2.0.63 running on Linux.

I've added a few custom content blocks to my template, but when editing a page, those fields appear before the main default "Content*" block.

Is there anyway to maintain the "Content*" editor block at the top and have the custom content sections below?

At the top of my template:
{content block='Notes - Headline' assign='NotesHeadline'}
{content block='Notes - Left List' assign='NotesListLeft'}
{content block='Notes - Right List' assign='NotesListRight'}

but in the editor, i see
"Notes - Headline" section/editor
then
"Notes - Left List"
then
Notes - Right List"
then
"Content*"

I want the default "Content*" section to appear first before the other custom content blocks in the page editor?

Thanks
ottoreck
New Member
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: [solved] Default content block not at top in page edit

Post by ottoreck »

i guess never mind. Not sure if this is the right way to do it, but i added the default content block to the top and assigned it to a variable. That basically reordered the blocks in the editor.

so i did...
{content assign='thecontent'}
{content block='Notes - Headline' assign='NotesHeadline'}
{content block='Notes - Left List' assign='NotesListLeft'}
{content block='Notes - Right List' assign='NotesListRight'}

and that seemed to order them the way i wanted.

Is that the right way to do it?
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: [solved] Default content block not at top in page edit

Post by calguy1000 »

Content Blocks are displayed in the order that they are defined. FYI:

a: {content} is essentially just short for {content block='content_en'}.

b: yes, the assign method is the best way of controlling the display and output in a customizable order.
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: [solved] Default content block not at top in page edit

Post by calguy1000 »

BTW, thank you for providing sufficient information for us to be able to help with.
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
nicmare
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 1150
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:55 am
Location: Berlin

Re: [solved] Default content block not at top in page edit

Post by nicmare »

ottoreck wrote: {content assign='thecontent'}
{content block='Notes - Headline' assign='NotesHeadline'}
{content block='Notes - Left List' assign='NotesListLeft'}
{content block='Notes - Right List' assign='NotesListRight'}

Is that the right way to do it?
better:
{content assign='thecontent'}
{content block="n_headline" label='Notes - Headline' assign='NotesHeadline'}
{content block="n_leftlist" label='Notes - Left List' assign='NotesListLeft'}
{content block="n_rightlist" label='Notes - Right List' assign='NotesListRight'}
Post Reply

Return to “CMSMS Core”