Module Search fails – no results

For questions and problems with the CMS core. This board is NOT for any 3rd party modules, addons, PHP scripts or anything NOT distributed with the CMS made simple package itself.
Post Reply
reinhardmohr
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:36 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Module Search fails – no results

Post by reinhardmohr »

Hi,
could anybody help me with serious problems with the search module! Thanks – for making CMSms and for helping here.
I have installed about fifty systems of CMSms over the years – but with the last three or four I have run into serious problems with search module. I simply can't get it to work – usually it does report that is has no results. But the searched terms definitely are multiple times in the content.
I already tried:
  • debugging mode
    several php versions from 7.2 to 7.4
    changing probably all parameters that are possible for search
    changing search templates and result templates
    changing page templates
    reinhardmohr-indexing
    changing text encoding
    searched this forum and the internet
    copied and installed older versions of search module from working installations
Usually there are no results; search just reports "no results".
But sometimes search finds results – but oddly enough it‘s results from file names or from protected pages!
Please help. Here are some informations from the latest installation:
----------------------------------------------
Cms Version: 2.2.15
Installed Modules:
AdminSearch: 1.0.5
CGExtensions: 1.65.2
CGSimpleSmarty: 2.2.1
CMSContentManager: 1.1.9
CmsJobManager: 0.1.3
DesignManager: 1.1.9
FileManager: 1.6.12
FilePicker: 1.0.5
FormBuilder: 1.1
FrontEndUsers: 3.2.2
MenuManager: 1.50.3
MicroTiny: 2.2.5
ModuleManager: 2.1.8
Navigator: 1.0.9
News: 2.51.11
Search: 1.52
TinyMCE: 3.3.2

Config Information:
php_memory_limit:
max_upload_size: 64000000
url_rewriting: mod_rewrite
page_extension: .html
query_var: page
auto_alias_content: true
locale: de_DE.UTF-8
set_names: true
timezone: Europe/Berlin
permissive_smarty: false

Php Information:
phpversion: 7.2.34
md5_function: An (Ja)
json_function: An (Ja)
gd_version: 2
tempnam_function: An (Ja)
magic_quotes_runtime: Aus (Nein)
E_ALL: 22519
E_STRICT: 0
E_DEPRECATED: 0
test_file_timedifference: No time difference found
test_db_timedifference: No time difference found
create_dir_and_file: 1
memory_limit: 256M
max_execution_time: 240
register_globals: Aus (Nein)
output_buffering: An
disable_functions:
open_basedir:
test_remote_url: Erfolgreich abgeschlossen
file_uploads: An (Ja)
post_max_size: 76M
upload_max_filesize: 64M
session_save_path: /var/tmp (1733)
session_use_cookies: An (Ja)
xml_function: An (Ja)
xmlreader_class: An (Ja)
check_ini_set: An (Ja)
curl: An

Performance Information:
allow_browser_cache: An (Ja)
browser_cache_expiry: 60
php_opcache: An (Ja)
smarty_cache: Aus (Nein)
smarty_compilecheck: Aus (Nein)
auto_clear_cache_age: An (Ja)
Server Information:
Server Software: Apache/2.4.43 (Unix)
Server Api: cgi-fcgi
Server Os: SunOS SunOS localhost 5.10 Generic_150401-49 i86pc An SunOS localhost 5.10 Generic_150401-49 i86pc
Server Db Type: MySQL (mysqli)
Server Db Version: 5.6.42
Server Db Grants: „Alles gewähren“-Anweisung gefunden, die als geeignet scheint

Permission Information:
tmp: /mnt/web321/a1/28/52629428/htdocs/KITA-HP-2021/tmp (0750)
tmp_cache: /mnt/web321/a1/28/52629428/htdocs/KITA-HP-2021/tmp/cache (0750)
templates_c: /mnt/web321/a1/28/52629428/htdocs/KITA-HP-2021/tmp/templates_c (0750)
modules: /mnt/web321/a1/28/52629428/htdocs/KITA-HP-2021/modules (0750)
uploads: /mnt/web321/a1/28/52629428/htdocs/KITA-HP-2021/uploads (0750)
Maske zum Erstellen von Dateien (umask): /mnt/web321/a1/28/52629428/htdocs/KITA-HP-2021/tmp/cache (0750)
config_file: 0444
----------------------------------------------

When I tried debug mode I got a few search related lines:
----------------------------
SELECT count FROM cms_module_search_words WHERE word = 'eltern' LIMIT 1
Debug: (1,521357) - (net usage: 2056928) - (peak: 2484376)
UPDATE cms_module_search_words SET count=count+1 WHERE word = 'eltern'
Debug: (1,521746) - (net usage: 2056832) - (peak: 2484376)
SELECT DISTINCT i.module_name, i.content_id, i.extra_attr, COUNT(*) AS nb, SUM(idx.count) AS total_weight FROM cms_module_search_items i INNER JOIN cms_module_search_index idx ON idx.item

--------------------------
I‘d be really thankful if somebody could help!
Thanks

Reinhard
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1154
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Module Search fails – no results

Post by DIGI3 »

I tried a few test installs and wasn't able to recreate your problem, so I'm going to guess it's something unique to either your sites or your environment.

Perhaps try a clean install, everything default to English, no third-party modules, and include default content. If it doesn't work there then it's likely server/environment related and nothing unique to your sites. If it does, then perhaps try copying one of the sites to a different host to see if the problem persists.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
User avatar
Rolf
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 7770
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:53 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Module Search fails – no results

Post by Rolf »

Are there in the backend at Systems Maintenance database errors present?
Try to "fix" them anyway.
Image
- + - + - + - + - + -
Latest CMSMS tutorial: FormBuilder WatchGuard
- + - + - + - + - + -
Did my post help you solving a problem at your (customers) website and it saved you many hours of work?
Great!! Buy me a cup of coffee in return as a small token of appreciation!
reinhardmohr
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:36 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Module Search fails – no results

Post by reinhardmohr »

Rolf wrote: Tue Feb 02, 2021 6:12 pm Are there in the backend at Systems Maintenance database errors present?
Try to "fix" them anyway.
Hi, Rolf,
thanks for helping!
I had a look at System Maintenance – no, there are no database errors. It says:
In der Datenbank wurden keine strukturellen Fehler festgestellt
Anyhow, I fixed and optimized the database. Then deleted cache again and clicked the buttons for page hierarchie and routes.
Unhappily nothing helped!

Next I will do a fresh install as DIGI3 recommended!
Thanks for helping
Reinhard
Beauregard
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 10:40 am

Re: Module Search fails – no results

Post by Beauregard »

Hi there,

the same problem happens to me right now:

Search is non functional, no matter what settings, languages etc. I use.
"No results found!"

Completely fresh install of 2.2.15 on big german hoster "Strato", running on PHP 7.4,
with the additional modules LISE, TinyMCE, FormBuilder and CGSmartImage.

Given the similar server-paths (see below), I´m guessing Reinhard´s site is hosted on Strato as well?
Any ideas on that?

Never had this happen before, or problems with Strato - and I´m using CMSMS since 2010.

Thanks a lot
and greetings,
Erik




----------------------------------------------

Cms Version: 2.2.15

Installed Modules:

AdminSearch: 1.0.5
CGExtensions: 1.65.2
CGSmartImage: 1.22.7
CMSContentManager: 1.1.9
CmsJobManager: 0.1.3
DesignManager: 1.1.9
FileManager: 1.6.12
FilePicker: 1.0.5
FormBuilder: 1.1
LISE: 1.4.2
LISEKundenstimmen: 1.4.2
LISELeistungen: 1.4.2
LISENews: 1.4.2
LISEReferenzen: 1.4.2
LISEService: 1.4.2
LISETeam: 1.4.2
MenuManager: 1.50.3
MicroTiny: 2.2.5
ModuleManager: 2.1.8
Navigator: 1.0.9
News: 2.51.11
Search: 1.52
TinyMCE: 3.3.2


Config Information:

php_memory_limit:
max_upload_size: 64000000
url_rewriting: mod_rewrite
page_extension:
query_var: page
auto_alias_content: true
locale:
set_names: true
timezone: Europe/Berlin
permissive_smarty: false


Php Information:

phpversion: 7.4.13
md5_function: An (Ja)
json_function: An (Ja)
gd_version: 2
tempnam_function: An (Ja)
magic_quotes_runtime: Aus (Nein)
E_ALL: 22519
E_STRICT: 0
E_DEPRECATED: 0
test_file_timedifference: No time difference found
test_db_timedifference: No time difference found
create_dir_and_file: 1
memory_limit: 256M
max_execution_time: 240
register_globals: Aus (Nein)
output_buffering: An
disable_functions:
open_basedir:
test_remote_url: Erfolgreich abgeschlossen
file_uploads: An (Ja)
post_max_size: 76M
upload_max_filesize: 64M
session_save_path: /var/tmp (1733)
session_use_cookies: An (Ja)
xml_function: An (Ja)
xmlreader_class: An (Ja)
check_ini_set: An (Ja)
curl: An


Performance Information:

allow_browser_cache: An (Ja)
browser_cache_expiry: 60
php_opcache: An (Ja)
smarty_cache: Aus (Nein)
smarty_compilecheck: Aus (Nein)
auto_clear_cache_age: An (Ja)

Server Information:

Server Software: Apache/2.4.43 (Unix)
Server Api: cgi-fcgi
Server Os: SunOS SunOS localhost 5.10 Generic_150401-49 i86pc An SunOS localhost 5.10 Generic_150401-49 i86pc
Server Db Type: MySQL (mysqli)
Server Db Version: 5.7.32
Server Db Grants: „Alles gewähren“-Anweisung gefunden, die als geeignet scheint


Permission Information:

tmp: /mnt/web203/c0/97/53863897/htdocs/Relaunch2021/tmp (0750)
tmp_cache: /mnt/web203/c0/97/53863897/htdocs/Relaunch2021/tmp/cache (0750)
templates_c: /mnt/web203/c0/97/53863897/htdocs/Relaunch2021/tmp/templates_c (0750)
modules: /mnt/web203/c0/97/53863897/htdocs/Relaunch2021/modules (0750)
uploads: /mnt/web203/c0/97/53863897/htdocs/Relaunch2021/uploads (0750)
Maske zum Erstellen von Dateien (umask): /mnt/web203/c0/97/53863897/htdocs/Relaunch2021/tmp/cache (0750)
config_file: 0444

----------------------------------------------
reinhardmohr
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:36 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Module Search fails – no results

Post by reinhardmohr »

Hallo, Beuauregard,
yes, indeed. The site is hosted by Strato. I never had any problems with Strato in combination with CMSms. But maybe they changed something?
I am just rebuilding the non-working site in a subfolder (as recommended above) and will report back the results here within the next two or three days.
Please keep me informed if you find out something new!
Thanks for helping
Reinhard
reinhardmohr
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:36 pm
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Module Search fails – no results

Post by reinhardmohr »

Okay,
I worked a whole day – but could not find a solution. Maybe someone can get more ideas or hints when I describe what I did. Thanks for helping:
  • As recommended by DIGI3 I installed a fresh site in a subfolder of the existing site (so the server settings are identical) – Search worked there.
  • I copied all the files and template to the new site. Looks like the old one – Search works only in new site.
  • I switched php settings. Changed pretty urls to on and off. Changed locale settings in config.php. Changed the editor from TinyMCE to MicroTiny and back. Ticked all settings for search module n and off again. Always for new site Search works, old one does not.
  • I then copied both sites to my own server, each in its own folder, on the same folder level (so the second site is no longer in a subfolder of the original site). Original site: Search fails. New site: Search works.
I do not really know where else I can look for a bug – I‘d be glad if someone could help.
Thanks again for your support

Reinhard
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1154
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Module Search fails – no results

Post by DIGI3 »

Does that host use mod_security? It doesn't *sound* like a mod_security issue, but I've seen weirder. Note that there's no reliable way to test it other than asking your host, unless there's a setting in cPanel for it.

Other random things to try:
-make sure Smarty caching is disabled
-temporarily rename .htaccess then clear the cmsms cache and reindex search results, test again
-start looking at Search-related database tables to see what's different between the working and non working sites
-check php error logs if you haven't already
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
Post Reply

Return to “CMSMS Core”