Only one Content Type is available

For questions and problems with the CMS core. This board is NOT for any 3rd party modules, addons, PHP scripts or anything NOT distributed with the CMS made simple package itself.
Post Reply
User avatar
caigner
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 5:29 am

Only one Content Type is available

Post by caigner »

Hi!

I am using version 2.2.15.

In Content Manager, when I click on "Add New Content" the "Add content page" comes up.

On the Main tab I would like to change the Content Type, but only Content is available.
Any suggestions why I can't see the other content types like:

Error Page
External Page Link
Internal Page Link
Section Header
Separator

Any hint is welcome!
Thanks,
Christian
I am using CMSms 2.2.15
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1101
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Only one Content Type is available

Post by DIGI3 »

Things I would check:
-could it be a user level/permissions thing? (try logging in as a full admin if you aren't currently)
-anything in the javascript error console or php error log?
-try a different browser and/or incognito mode
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
User avatar
caigner
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 5:29 am

Re: Only one Content Type is available

Post by caigner »

I have done some testing now:

I checked:

- yes, I am logged in as admin
- different browser = same result
- incognito mode = same result
- no javascript/php errors

In Site Admin -> Settings - Content Manager -> New Page Defaults I can select a Default Content Type other than "Content", but when I then go to Content -> Content Manager -> Add New Content I get the error message: The content type selected is invalid.

I recently updated to 2.2.15. I never used a different Content Type other than Content before, so I can't say whether this is a bug in 2.2.15 or it was also present in the previous version.
I am using CMSms 2.2.15
User avatar
caigner
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 5:29 am

Re: Only one Content Type is available

Post by caigner »

Some more testing...

I installed version 2.2.14 on my local machine. Everything works fine. All Content Types are available.

Then I upgraded to version 2.2.15 and the installation crashed. In error_log I found the following message:

Code: Select all

zend_mm_heap corrupted
Maybe the same thing happened on the remote machine and so only a partial upgrade was performed. Maybe this is the reason why I can't see the other Content Types?

I did a fresh install (no upgrade) with version 2.2.15 and it too crashed with the message above.

I have to investigate a bit further....
I am using CMSms 2.2.15
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1101
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Only one Content Type is available

Post by DIGI3 »

Perhaps try disabling opcache when running the install/upgrade. Or try a different PHP version.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
User avatar
caigner
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 5:29 am

Re: Only one Content Type is available

Post by caigner »

I did a fresh install of version 2.2.15 on the remote server and it works fine. Installation finished without errors and all Content Types are now available again.

So I deduce from this that something went wrong when I updated from 2.2.14 -> 2.2.15.

Now I will import a database backup from the old version 2.2.15 installation (just data, no structure) ...

... Well, something is definitely wrong inside the database. After importing the data I now have again only one Content Type: Content.

Can you tell me, where inside the database the content types are stored?
I am using CMSms 2.2.15
User avatar
Jo Morg
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1809
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:47 pm

Re: Only one Content Type is available

Post by Jo Morg »

Usually, although not always, the likely cause for that error is a buggy PHP extension crashing PHP.

We did a minor change in the current phar installer to temporarily disable some caching extensions during install, which fixes a misbehaviour some users were experiencing on some server environments, which may have to do with your issue. However, to my knowledge, that error indicates a server issue that can only be solved on the server itself, a quick search over the net gives some possible solutions, such as identifying and disabling the affected extension, or a more extreme but possibly more effective and easier solution on some servers changing the PHP version as DIGI3 suggested.

Allow me a suggestion: give more details such as the used PHP version, installed modules and as much info as possible, including the PHP error logs entries at the estimated time of the issue for us to be able to better assess the issue and help you.

We do not recommend messing with the database directly, or any of the core and modules' files if you can avoid it. The content types are registered dynamically IIRC, so there won't be a specific database entry for that. I would suggest however to run a file checksum to see if there are any files missing or corrupted, which I suspect there might be a few.

HTH
"There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary... and those who don't."
* by the way: English is NOT my native language (sorry for any mistakes...).
Code of Conduit | CMSMS Docs | Help Support CMSMS
My developer Page on the Forge | Yet another blog about CMSMS
GeekMoot 2015 in Ghent, Belgium: I was there!
GeekMoot 2016 in Leicester, UK: I was there!
User avatar
caigner
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 5:29 am

Re: Only one Content Type is available

Post by caigner »

I did a installation refresh by running the installer-file again.
After that I ran a file checksum: 469 files missing (but all of them are related to languages I didn't install)

Here is the system information:

----------------------------------------------

Cms Version: 2.2.15

Installed Modules:

AdminSearch: 1.0.5
CMSContentManager: 1.1.9
CmsJobManager: 0.1.3
DesignManager: 1.1.9
ECB2: 1.6.1
FileManager: 1.6.12
FilePicker: 1.0.5
Gallery: 2.4.2
MenuManager: 1.50.3
MicroTiny: 2.2.5
ModuleManager: 2.1.8
Navigator: 1.0.9
News: 2.51.11
Search: 1.52


Config Information:

php_memory_limit:
max_upload_size: 16000000
url_rewriting: mod_rewrite
page_extension:
query_var: page
auto_alias_content: true
locale:
set_names: true
timezone: Europe/Vienna
permissive_smarty: false


Php Information:

phpversion: 7.4.12
md5_function: On (True)
json_function: On (True)
gd_version: 2
tempnam_function: On (True)
magic_quotes_runtime: Off (False)
E_ALL: 22527
E_STRICT: 0
E_DEPRECATED: 0
test_file_timedifference: No time difference found
test_db_timedifference: No time difference found
create_dir_and_file: 1
memory_limit: 128M
max_execution_time: 60
register_globals: Off (False)
output_buffering: 4096
disable_functions: pcntl_alarm, pcntl_fork, pcntl_waitpid, pcntl_wait, pcntl_wifexited, pcntl_wifstopped, pcntl_wifsignaled, pcntl_wexitstatus, pcntl_wtermsig, pcntl_wstopsig, pcntl_signal, pcntl_signal_dispatch, pcntl_get_last_error, pcntl_strerror, pcntl_sigprocmask, pcntl_sigwaitinfo, pcntl_sigtimedwait, pcntl_exec, pcntl_getpriority, pcntl_setpriority, exec, passthru, shell_exec, system, proc_close, proc_get_status, proc_nice, proc_open, proc_terminate
open_basedir: /srv/tmp/s/sportunion:/srv/www/s/sportunion:/srv/include
test_remote_url: Success
file_uploads: On (True)
post_max_size: 16M
upload_max_filesize: 16M
session_save_path: No check because open basedir active
session_use_cookies: On (True)
xml_function: On (True)
xmlreader_class: On (True)
check_ini_set: On (True)
curl: On


Performance Information:

allow_browser_cache: On (True)
browser_cache_expiry: 60
php_opcache: On (True)
smarty_cache: On (True)
smarty_compilecheck: On (True)
auto_clear_cache_age: On (True)

Server Information:

Server Software: Apache
Server Api: fpm-fcgi
Server Os: Linux 4.9.0-13-amd64 On x86_64
Server Db Type: MySQL (mysqli)
Server Db Version: 5.7.31
Server Db Grants: Could not find a suitable "GRANT ALL" permission, this does not necessarily lead to problems... But if you have problems installing/removing modules or adding and deleting items/pages this could be the cause!


Permission Information:

tmp: /srv/www/s/sportunion/sportunion-kaltenleutgeben.at/tmp (0775)
tmp_cache: /srv/www/s/sportunion/sportunion-kaltenleutgeben.at/tmp/cache (0775)
templates_c: /srv/www/s/sportunion/sportunion-kaltenleutgeben.at/tmp/templates_c (0775)
modules: /srv/www/s/sportunion/sportunion-kaltenleutgeben.at/modules (0775)
uploads: /srv/www/s/sportunion/sportunion-kaltenleutgeben.at/uploads (0775)
File Creation Mask (umask): /srv/www/s/sportunion/sportunion-kaltenleutgeben.at/tmp/cache (0775)
config_file: 0440

----------------------------------------------
I am using CMSms 2.2.15
User avatar
caigner
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 5:29 am

Re: Only one Content Type is available

Post by caigner »

OK. Now I feel really stupid. It is so embarrassing.

In the Global Settings -> Content Editing Settings under Content Types that are NOT allowed: I marked all but the Content Type as not allowed.

Really! I forgot about it and now I was chasing demons for the past two days. And I made you guys look for bugs which do not exist.

For this I apologize!

Sorry. :-(
I am using CMSms 2.2.15
Post Reply

Return to “CMSMS Core”