Can't access array in XMLMadeSimple2

Have a question or a suggestion about a 3rd party addon module or plugin?
Let us know here.
reinhardmohr
Forum Members
Forum Members

Can't access array in XMLMadeSimple2

Post by reinhardmohr »

Hi,
I am not a programmer – so I have run into a problem and would be glad if someone could help me – thanks!

I describe the problem:
I need to include data from an xml file into my website to parse a table on a page.

So I installed XMLMadeSimple2 and loaded the xml file as a feed.
This printed neatly an xml tree with objects and arrays onto my page. Looks like this:
Bildschirmfoto 2022-04-14 um 16.58.26.png
Also when I add "debug“ to my page the console shows this:
Bildschirmfoto 2022-04-14 um 17.00.52.png
Now the XMLMadeSimple2 help tells me to access the data in an array like this:

Code: Select all

{$xml->team->@attributes->name}
I also tried this:

{$xml->$team->@attributes->name}
But when I have a look at the page I always get a smarty error that says:

Syntax error in template "content:content:content_en"  on line 3 "{$xml->team->@attributes->name}"  - Unexpected "@", expected one of: "{" , DOLLARID , "id, name" , "$"
In tried some variations like

{$xml->team.attributes.name}
but always the error pops up. So the problem seems to be the array‘s name "@attributes" that starts with an @.
As I said: I am not a programmer. So I am lost with this problem.

Could someone help me? Thank you

Reinhard

P.S.: If there is an easier way of processing an xml file to access the data for my website – I‘d be more than glad to learn. Thank you!
Jo Morg
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member

Re: Can't access array in XMLMadeSimple2

Post by Jo Morg »