Page 1 of 1

News module not showing detailpage properly

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 3:09 pm
by babel
When I put

Code: Select all

{news number='15' detailpage="blog"}
in my blog page, choose a blog-article and click on "more" I allso see the

Code: Select all

<!-- Start News Display Template -->
. This is not what I want. After the click on "more" is only want to see the rest of the article. I tried including

Code: Select all

summarypage="namePage"
and using a template, but nothing works properly. I couldn't find a proper solution in the forum.
Never thought de News-module hard to get to work properly. Hope understands what my problem is and finds a solution.

cms ms 2.2.14 if this is any help

Re: News module not showing detailpage properly

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 3:55 pm
by DIGI3
If you change everything to default templates and clear the cache, does it still do this? Also be sure to do the usual troubleshooting - try in a clean/different browser, check error logs (php, admin, and console), try on a clean install on the same server, etc...

If none of those things help you may need to provide more info and exact steps to recreate the issue. I'm not sure I fully understand what's going on, if you can share a demo it may help.

Re: News module not showing detailpage properly

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 4:08 pm
by velden
The detailPAGE is the page the news is displayed on.

Are you sure you don't mean detailTEMPLATE?
(optional) detailpage="pagealias" - Page to display News details in. This can either be a page alias or an id. Used to allow details to be displayed in a different template from the summary. This parameter will have no effect for articles with custom URLs.
(optional) detailtemplate="" - Use a separate database template for displaying the article detail. This template must exist in the Design Manager, though it does not need to be the default. If this parameter is not specified, then the current template marked as default will be used. This parameter is not used when generating urls if custom urls are specified.

Re: News module not showing detailpage properly

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:12 pm
by babel
Thanks DIGI3 and Velden, but the problem is stil there.

In the page

Code: Select all

https://www.sitename.nl/news/2/97/looking-around
, which appears after clicking on more I see this code:

Code: Select all

<ul class="list1">
<li class="firstnewscat">
	<a href="https://www.sitename.nl/index.php?mact=News,cntnt01,default,0&cntnt01number=15&cntnt01category_id=1&cntnt01returnid=97">General</a></li>
<li>
<span>Ik zoek een baan </span>
</li>
</ul>





<div class="NewsSummary">

	<div class="NewsSummaryPostdate">
		27 juni 2020
	</div>

<div class="NewsSummaryLink">
<a href="https://www.sitename.nl/news/2/97/Ik-zoek-een-baan" title="Ik zoek een baan">Ik zoek een baan</a>
</div>

<div class="NewsSummaryCategory">
	Categorie: General
</div>

	<div class="NewsSummaryAuthor">
		Ingezonden door: someone
	</div>

        
	<div class="NewsSummarySummary">
		<p>Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed suscipit tincidunt orci, mollis semper sapien fringilla vitae. Maecenas libero lacus, dictum eget nisi vel, volutpat imperdiet metus. Interdum et malesuada fames ac ante ipsum primis in faucibus. Cras id aliquet magna.</p>
	</div>

	<div class="NewsSummaryMorelink">
		[<a href="https://www.sitename.nl/news/2/97/Ik-zoek-een-baan">Meer</a>]
	</div>



</div>
<div class="NewsSummary">

	<div class="NewsSummaryPostdate">
		27 juni 2020
	</div>

<div class="NewsSummaryLink">
<a href="https://www.sitename.nl/news/1/97/News-Module-Installed" title="News Module Installed">News Module Installed</a>
</div>

<div class="NewsSummaryCategory">
	Categorie: General
</div>

	<div class="NewsSummaryAuthor">
		Ingezonden door: nodale
	</div>

        
	<div class="NewsSummaryContent">
		The news module was installed.  Exciting. This news article is not using the Summary field and therefore there is no link to read more. But you can click on the news heading to read only this article.
	</div>


</div>

<!-- End News Display Template -->
But I only want this code

Code: Select all

  
	<div id="NewsPostDetailDate">
		27 juni 2020
	</div>
<h3 id="NewsPostDetailTitle">Looking</h3>

<hr id="NewsPostDetailHorizRule" />

	<div id="NewsPostDetailSummary">
		<strong>
			<p>Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed suscipit tincidunt orci, mollis semper sapien fringilla vitae. Maecenas libero lacus, dictum eget nisi vel, volutpat imperdiet metus. Interdum et malesuada fames ac ante ipsum primis in faucibus. Cras id aliquet magna.</p>
		</strong>
	</div>

	<div id="NewsPostDetailCategory">
		Categorie: General
	</div>
	<div id="NewsPostDetailAuthor">
		Ingezonden door: someone
	</div>

<div id="NewsPostDetailContent">
        
	<p><img src="img/cheetah.png" alt="cheetah" caption="false" width="300" height="300" />
Ut a maximus mauris, id tincidunt ex. Integer sed lacus et tellus fermentum efficitur. Nam tempor turpis a magna efficitur, dapibus euismod justo consectetur. Nam id velit id turpis sagittis tempor.
</p>
</div>


<div id="NewsPostDetailReturnLink"><a href="https://www.sitename.nl/blog">Terug</a></div>
I've cleared the cache, installed news-module again. Hope this will help to help me.

Re: News module not showing detailpage properly

Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:21 pm
by babel
I found the solution: {news number='15' summarypage="blog"} has to be in the page and not in the template. It's a relief that it is solved.