Admin White Screening

Have a question or a suggestion about a 3rd party addon module or plugin?
Let us know here.
MantaPro
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:14 pm

Admin White Screening

Post by MantaPro »

I occasionally been getting a blank white screen in Admin - I think it might be only in Admin/FEU

If I do view source the page source is always just a snippet like this

Code: Select all

</</<__script__ type="text/javascript">
          <!--location.replace("http://www.apemtp.org/admin/moduleinterface.php?mact=FrontEndUsers,m1_,admin_edituser2,0&__c=7c7035bd6907e3e2b69"); // -->
          </__script>
          <noscript>
          <meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="0;URL=http://www.apemtp.org/admin/moduleinterface.php?mact=FrontEndUsers,m1_,admin_edituser2,0&__c=7c7035bd6907e3e2b69">
          </noscript>
which I assume is an ajax call

Also a problem with the login screen

Code: Select all

</</<__script__ type="text/javascript">
          <!--location.replace("http://www.apemtp.org/admin/login.php"); // -->
          </__script>
          <noscript>
          <meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="0;URL=http://www.apemtp.org/admin/login.php">
          </noscript>
If I turn debug on - it works - so a bit confused

I'm using the very latest everything

Code: Select all


----------------------------------------------

Cms Version: 2.2.10

Installed Modules:

    AdminSearch: 1.0.4
    CGBetterForms: 1.9.2
    CGContentUtils: 2.3
    CGExtensions: 1.62.3
    CGSharedContent: 1.0.1
    CGSimpleSmarty: 2.2.1
    CGSmartImage: 1.22.5
    CGUserDirectory: 1.5.1
    CMSContentManager: 1.1.7
    CMSMailer: 6.2.14
    CmsJobManager: 0.1.3
    Comments: 1.9.2
    DesignManager: 1.1.6
    FileManager: 1.6.8
    FilePicker: 1.0.4
    FormBuilder: 0.8.1.6
    FrontEndUsers: 2.13.2
    JMFilePicker: 1.0.1
    MenuManager: 1.50.3
    MicroTiny: 2.2.4
    ModuleManager: 2.1.6
    Navigator: 1.0.9
    News: 2.51.5
    Search: 1.51.6


Config Information:

    php_memory_limit:
    max_upload_size: 64000000
    url_rewriting: none
    page_extension:
    query_var: page
    auto_alias_content: true
    locale: en_CA
    set_names: true
    timezone: America/New_York
    permissive_smarty: true


Php Information:

    phpversion: 5.6.40
    md5_function: On (True)
    json_function: On (True)
    gd_version: 2
    tempnam_function: On (True)
    magic_quotes_runtime: Off (False)
    E_ALL: 32767
    E_STRICT: 2048
    E_DEPRECATED: 8192
    test_file_timedifference: No time difference found
    test_db_timedifference: No time difference found
    create_dir_and_file: 1
    memory_limit: -1
    max_execution_time: 50000
    register_globals: Off (False)
    output_buffering: 0
    disable_functions:
    open_basedir:
    test_remote_url: Success
    file_uploads: On (True)
    post_max_size: 64M
    upload_max_filesize: 64M
    session_save_path: /tmp/.priv (1733)
    session_use_cookies: On (True)
    xml_function: On (True)
    xmlreader_class: On (True)
    check_ini_set: On (True)
    curl: On


Performance Information:

    allow_browser_cache: Off (False)
    browser_cache_expiry: 60
    php_opcache: Off (False)
    smarty_cache: Off (False)
    smarty_compilecheck: On (True)
    auto_clear_cache_age: On (True)

Server Information:

    Server Software: Apache
    Server Api: cgi-fcgi
    Server Os: Linux Linux info 3.0 #1337 SMP Tue Jan 01 00:00:00 CEST 2000 all GNU/Linux On Linux info 3.0 #1337 SMP Tue Jan 01 00:00:00 CEST 2000 all GNU/Linux
    Server Db Type: MySQL (mysqli)
    Server Db Version: 5.5.60
    Server Db Grants: Found a "GRANT ALL" statement that appears to be suitable


Permission Information:

    tmp: /homepages/38/d242029264/htdocs/apemtp_cmsms2/tmp (0705)
    tmp_cache: /homepages/38/d242029264/htdocs/apemtp_cmsms2/tmp/cache (0705)
    templates_c: /homepages/38/d242029264/htdocs/apemtp_cmsms2/tmp/templates_c (0705)
    modules: /homepages/38/d242029264/htdocs/apemtp_cmsms2/modules (0705)
    uploads: /homepages/38/d242029264/htdocs/apemtp_cmsms2/uploads (0705)
    File Creation Mask (umask): /homepages/38/d242029264/htdocs/apemtp_cmsms2/tmp/cache (0705)
    config_file: 0644

----------------------------------------------
MantaPro
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:14 pm

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by MantaPro »

Not FEU & login only - also when page editing in ContentManager - for instance at the ajax call when setting navigation "parent" its set to -1 and no ajax ?
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1629
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by DIGI3 »

White screens will certainly be creating an entry in your PHP error log. It should give a good clue as to what the problem is.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
MantaPro
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:14 pm

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by MantaPro »

Thanks for your reply DIGI3

I installed a php.ini in /admin/ so that I could see any errors (the joy of being hosted by 1&1 Ionos is Ive never yet got error logging to work satisfactorily - just display all errors instead LOL)

Code: Select all

memory_limit = 32M
upload_max_filesize = 10M
max_execution_time = 60
post_max_size = 10M
output_buffering = on
error_reporting = E_ALL
; error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_STRICT & ~E_NOTICE & ~E_DEPRECATED &~E_WARNING
; error_reporting = E_ALL & ~E_WARNING & ~E_NOTICE
log_errors = Off
display_errors = On
; error_log = /home242029264.1and1-data.host/apemtp_cmsms2/logs/php-error.log
magic_quotes_gpc = off


Interestingly post .ini install at least it isn't white screening any more

but no error messages either (other than an access denied warning for /temp/.priv ?)

I tried another browser in case a recent Firefox upgrade was the problem; but I get the same lack of Ajax in Chrome too

I FF inspector it the following JS errors
Image
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by calguy1000 »

if display_errors is on, and you are encountering errors then you can get garbage output in a bunch of places, including cms_js_setup.

so... your error would have moved somewhere else.
The error log is still the best way to get errors... but if you are diligent you can find them elsewhere.
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
MantaPro
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:14 pm

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by MantaPro »

Thanks for the reply Calguy1000

When there are PHP errors; they are evidently displayed just fine.

If I throw in some errors in to config.php such as undefined constants; undefined array offset or use a depreciated ereg_replace then

Image


Image

So the failing ajax calls (see the -1 in the "parent" field in the ContentManager first image). They do not seem to be being caused by anything php related on the server

The only things changed recently is:
cmsms2.2.9.1 to 2.2.10 two weeks ago; but the ajax failures have started happening in the last few days since the last 2 module updates
Image

Prior to updating those two modules ajax in Admin worked fine and I've not changed anything in the config/environment except installing the php.ini which I listed
User avatar
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 1629
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by DIGI3 »

Any chance it could be something browser side - cache, extension, etc? Try it in incognito mode to verify.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
MantaPro
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:14 pm

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by MantaPro »

Thanks DIGI 3 for the reply - I had wondered the same because everything was fine in recent weeks doing this site (APEMTP) then in just the last few days whitescreen and no Ajax. It hasn't whitescreen since I installed php.ini in /admin but various ajax calls non functional

Only things changed recently are:
  • Updated FEU & CGE to latest version
  • I allowed the browser I use (Firefox) to update itself to the latest version
  • I added a couple of pages of content & forms
But no changes to the server environment other than the module updates

So I suspected the Firefox update may be the issue too - but that is one of the first things I tested - I tried editing in Admin using Google Chrome - fastest test is add new page and check the navigation/parent field. So I tried it in MS-Explorer (which I normally never use except for frontend testing) - Same problem no ajax for nav/parent
Image

Also tried using incognito mode in chrome
Image same problem with the ajax content nav/parent

I also tried my normal browser (Firefox) with a different CMSMS website that is hosted in the exact same 1&1 hosting account; so the same environment config; same PHP7.3.3; but this other website is CMSMS 2.2.9.1; no FEU; CGE 1.61.4 (so they are all 1 version behind latest) as you can see the Content Nav/Parent ajax works fine for these
Image

When I get a moment I will try rolling back CGE & FEU to -1 version on the APEMTP website see if anything changes
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by calguy1000 »

much of the admin side javascript is generated by a PHP script.
If there is an error in the PHP environment then the javascript will not be generated properly and then the AJAX won't work.

You need to get your error logs.
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
User avatar
velden
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:29 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by velden »

Thanks for the reply Calguy1000

When there are PHP errors; they are evidently displayed just fine.

If I throw in some errors in to config.php such as undefined constants; undefined array offset or use a depreciated ereg_replace then
Yeah, but if the errors occur/appear in files which are called by includes (<__script__ src="whatever.php">) or through ajax, then you won't get the errors displayed on the webpage itself probably.

In the case of a javascript file for example the browser will expect some javascript, but if there are some notices or warnings in the output, it won't be valid javascript.

So use your browser's developer tools to review the actual output of those files to see the warning/notice/error you're looking for (e.g. the network tab in Chrome DevTools).

I think the cms_js_setup.php request would be a good one to start with.
MantaPro
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:14 pm

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by MantaPro »

Thanks Calguy / Velden for your replies

Yes as previously noted JS errors are evident in the browsers development tools and I understand, as Calguy highlights, these AJAX calls are being served from php scripts

Trouble is 1&1 as is common with many shared hosting accounts do not allow clients access to the apache logs (which are by definition shared); setting php_flag log_errors on in .htaccess triggers a 500 server error and setting log_errors = On in php.ini in the websites root and /admin directories are not inherited by whatever random directory is being called via ajax - making diverting the error logs to a specified file problematic

I will phone 1&1 tech support after Easter - see if they can enable access somehow
User avatar
velden
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 3484
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:29 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by velden »

I'm not sure you get my point:

As you can enable display_errors those javascript calls will return errors (if encountered). But they may not show on your website.

Chrome DevTools during may reveal to you what is going wrong:
devtools.png
MantaPro
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:14 pm

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by MantaPro »

Thanks for your reply Velden - you are absolutely right - I hadn't understood your point - my expertise in using browser dev tools is minimal and did't know how to find ajax responses (The Firefox Inspector and Chrome's seem pretty similar)

I am not sure what I'm looking for in the responses
Image
- what jumps out to me is the "cms_data is not defined" which is doubtless due to preceding message of a parse error
"Unexpected token <" in line 1 of js_setup.php (but I highlighted these messages in my 1st and 2nd post yesterday)

But does that bring us back to Calguys point that the JS is created and sent by PHP
MantaPro
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:14 pm

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by MantaPro »

Ummm - I know little of ajax....

but what appears to upsetting the ajax being served is it starts with the characters "</</"

And ever page received in Admin has these (spurious ?) characters prior to the doctype declaration
Image

And half of them in the front end too
Image

Some spurious debug development echos been left in to the various CMSMS scripts when it loads ? - trouble is a search for "</" finds 1000s
User avatar
Dr.CSS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Admin White Screening

Post by Dr.CSS »

Might it be your version of PHP is old..?

phpversion: 5.6.40
Post Reply

Return to “Modules/Add-Ons”