Image cropping and upload... ?

Have a question or a suggestion about a 3rd party addon module or plugin?
Let us know here.
Post Reply
Mich-adg
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 9:08 pm

Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by Mich-adg »

Hi,
anyone has a tip for cropping an image before uploading? (For Lise and why not other mods).
I'm searching a tool/solution like this (or better !):

https://fr.wordpress.org/plugins/acf-im ... reenshots/

Thks !
User avatar
velden
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 3304
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:29 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by velden »

IIRC Gallery does it.
Mich-adg
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 9:08 pm

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by Mich-adg »

Hi John, no for the moment i have no solution.
Velden, thanks but... what is IIRC Gallery?
User avatar
Rolf
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 7754
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:53 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by Rolf »

IIRC == If I Remember Correctly... ;)

http://dev.cmsmadesimple.org/projects/gallery
Image
- + - + - + - + - + -
Latest CMSMS tutorial: FormBuilder WatchGuard
- + - + - + - + - + -
Did my post help you solving a problem at your (customers) website and it saved you many hours of work?
Great!! Buy me a cup of coffee in return as a small token of appreciation!
User avatar
velden
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 3304
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:29 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by velden »

Not sure you know about the module CGSmartImage; it's (almost) perfect for this use. It does a lot of image stuff but it does NOT change the original image. Which in most occassions is good.
Last edited by velden on Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Still learning every day
Mich-adg
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 9:08 pm

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by Mich-adg »

No solution for me right now. I'm going to write to the LISE developers to think about it (because i use LISE of all my new sites, and i'm ready to pay for that).
User avatar
velden
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 3304
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:29 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by velden »

Then you must be looking to save server storage. Because if you worry about serving large images to visitors CGSmartImage would integrate perfectly into LISE templates (and all other modules' Front end templates)
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by calguy1000 »

Because editors usually don't know how an image will be displayed (what dimensions, etc). I determined a long time ago, that it's not always a good idea for editors to crop images... except in some limited cases. For example uploading an avatar... but then the uploader would need to have some intelligence for minimum and maximum sizes etc.

CGSmartImage can handle:
a - resizing the master image (to handle overly large images from cameras these days).
b - auto-rotating JPEG images
c - cropping and resizing in any way you want for display on a page or in an article or product or whatever.
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
User avatar
Rolf
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 7754
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:53 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by Rolf »

I use the Gallery module as "Image Manager" at most of my large websites...
Image
- + - + - + - + - + -
Latest CMSMS tutorial: FormBuilder WatchGuard
- + - + - + - + - + -
Did my post help you solving a problem at your (customers) website and it saved you many hours of work?
Great!! Buy me a cup of coffee in return as a small token of appreciation!
pWorker
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 1:30 pm

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by pWorker »

Hi,

i`m using a combination of the filereader api and jcrop. So i choose a file, it`s size get`s checked, then a preview image (src file rader) plops out with jCrop Functionality. Then on button press the crop result is saved as jpeg via an ajax call. If you would choose another pic, then the routine would empty the containers and restart (everything without uploading the original file).
Mich-adg
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 9:08 pm

Re: Image cropping and upload... ?

Post by Mich-adg »

Hi pWorker, how did you achieve this? In wich module?
Post Reply

Return to “Modules/Add-Ons”