[SOLVED][Moved]Need help connecting different modules

Have a question or a suggestion about a 3rd party addon module or plugin?
Let us know here.
jakovbak
Forum Members
Forum Members

[SOLVED][Moved]Need help connecting different modules

Post by jakovbak »

NOTE:
This topic has been moved to
http://forum.cmsmadesimple.org/viewtopi ... =7&t=68455
due to decision to go with CGCalendar Module to solve this project.

Hello everyone!
I have tryed with a couple of modules but I'm not that good with coding to make it all by myself. As a matter of fact - I suck on that! But it's also probably far more complex problem than I can even imagine so I'm asking all of you experienced coders out there to help me out - with advice, 'how to', working solution from some previous project, whatever... Because, basically, I don't know where to start.

Here's my problem...

I have to setup something like an Articles/Events page. Entries must be assigned to various number of categories, must be also connected to some calendar module (if visitor wants to search entries by specific upcoming day), editor must be able to assign an entry to the list of recommended Events, and all articles/entries/events must contain a small Google map to show it's location. There is also a couple of other useful details to be included but at this point they are not so important for this discussion.

- Tell me good people, is it possible to achieve something like that in CmsMS? Maybe without an army of coders and developers? :-)
- Did any of you came across something similar?
- Could some of the existing and well known modules be used for this task or it would be easier to write a whole new module?

I'm a designer and something like this is way out of my league, even thou I use CmsMS for a couple of years now... I just can't get into 'coding state of mind'... It requires a specific way of thinking and a certain discipline I obviously don't have. But, creativity comes in many different shapes, right? :-)