Page 1 of 2

css/everything help

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:32 pm
by Bewbs
what could be causing the strange colored box around the vertical menu, and why is the vertical menu pushing the content box down

http://www.bewbs.com/V2/index.php?page=test

also, any suggestions on how to make it look better under ie6

css/everything help

Posted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 10:11 pm
by SteveG
The content is being pushed down because you are using relative positioning.
Remove the top: 59px; line from the CSS and that will solve it.
The only strange colored box I could see is caused by the transparent.png

HTH

Steve

css/everything help

Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:26 pm
by beejereeno
Thank you...this worked!

dhtmlmenu

Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 10:15 am
by Anonymous
how can i change the color of the dhtml menu? i have changed every color in the template but its still grey!!!

css/everything help

Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:58 pm
by Ted
If you edit phplayers/layersmenu-cms.css, it will change it. We really need to move this into the default template's css...

css/everything help

Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:42 am
by Greg
To control the menu CSS entirely from the one CSS file I took all the css out of phplayers/layersmenu-cms.css and added it to my css templates.

phplayers/layersmenu-cms.css is just a dummy file now.

Works great!

css/everything help

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:28 am
by Noobie
I'm sorry that i have to reveal myself as a true Noobie...

But exactly what do i edit in phplayers/layersmenu-cms.css to change the colour of the dhtml?

I've tried to copy it & paste it on the bottom of my css template - then experimented changing all the background colour. But, alas, the dhtml still remains blue/grey!

css/everything help

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:00 pm
by Greg
You are half way there with copying the code into your own template.

If you don't change any of the colors in phplayers/layersmenu-cms.css then those colors over-ride the colors you put in your own css. That is why I took all the code out of phplayers/layersmenu-cms.css and saved it as a dummy file.

phplayers/layersmenu-cms.css has no code in it but is still there so phplayers menu doesn't complain about a file not found.

css/everything help

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:52 pm
by Ted
We NEED to come up with a better workaround for this problem. I'm not totally sure how to handle it, though. Maybe phplayers should have an option to not inlclude the css file? Maybe there should be a stylesheet hook that includes all the stuff from the css file into the css of the template? Any ideas?

css/everything help

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 3:44 pm
by Ted
That's actually a really good idea. I'm just wondering if it would break the upgrade path.

css/everything help

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 4:04 pm
by Greg
Another way is to utilize the cascade Specificity rules. I put only the selectors and attributes in my css that I want to change and specify the #leftnav id selector in front of each class. eg

Code: Select all

/* phpmenu css */
#leftnav .verbar	{
	color: black;
	background-color: #edb;
}

#leftnav .subframe	{
	background-color: #edb;
}
#leftnav .item   {
    font-size: 12px;
    background-color: #53302D;
    color: #fff;
    font-weight: bold;
    border: 1px solid #000;
    margin:2px;	
}
#leftnav .separator	{
    background-color: #edb;
    border-top: 1px solid #322;
    border-bottom: 1px solid #edb;
    margin: 4px 1px 3px 1px;    /* top right bottom left */
}
#leftnav .item a	{
    color: #fff;
}
#leftnav .item a:link	{
	color: #fff;
}
#leftnav .item a:visited	{
	color: #fff;
}
#leftnav .item a:hover	{
	color: #322;
	background-color: #ffe;
}
In my template I have the menu in a div with id leftnav

Code: Select all

<div id="leftnav">
{cms_module module="phplayers" showadmin="0"}
</div>

As '#leftnav .class' is more specific than just '.class' it take precedence.

ID's always have the greatest weight when it comes to specificity.

Big John has it all explained here here

However this is probably too complicated of an approach

css/everything help

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 5:58 pm
by Ted
Yeah, but that's assuming that IE (which most people still use... why is beyond me) actually does the cascading properly. :)

I was actually thinking something along those lines as well, but instead having the phplayers module actually put the css into the same stylesheet (through stylesheet.php) BEFORE the rest of the CSS so that cascading would work. Between that, and an option to turn off the phplayers CSS completely, I think it would be flexible enough, though far from perfect.

css/everything help

Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 6:08 pm
by Greg
Cascade works in IE 6, maxthon, and Moz 1.7.5 for sure. I don't have firefox, opera or any other browsers installed so have no way to test them.

css/everything help

Posted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:33 am
by Greg
OK , I installled FireFox and the cascade works correctly in it as well.
Now I am Up to date with the rest of the world. :D

css/everything help

Posted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:52 am
by Ted
Welcome. It's a nice place to be... :)