choosecornwall.ca

Post links to sites running CMS in all its glory.
Post Reply
joecannes
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:00 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec

choosecornwall.ca

Post by joecannes »

Here's one I worked on, nothing special, just using CMSMS MLE 1.3.1 I believe, with the News module, and custom photo gallery:

http://www.choosecornwall.ca

JC
Last edited by joecannes on Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
tophers
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 7:25 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: choosecornwall.ca

Post by tophers »

Nice site - feature rich, clean design, and a perfect example of what the CMS can accomplish.

If I may offer one tip? The Site Map page gets a bit long (as they tend to do as sites get larger). I've started breaking mine up into columns (usually with a quick table, but css divs would do as well). Simply put a start parameter on the tag to limit what it shows:
{sitemap start_element="1"}
{sitemap start_element="2"}{sitemap start_element="3"}
{sitemap start_element="4"}, etc.

This will keep your site map a bit more manageable, and user-friendly.
User avatar
christiaans
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:37 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: choosecornwall.ca

Post by christiaans »

I like it a lot. Nice and clean (which is totally my style) :), good job!

One tip: on the video page, the menu slides underneath the flash player (common problem with swf's/objects), maybe you should take another look at that..
joecannes
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:00 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: choosecornwall.ca

Post by joecannes »

Thanks for the suggestions, will look into the video page in the next round of edits , and re-arranging the sitemap...I thought the {sitemap} tag was depreciated though, just checked, and I was using the {site_mapper} tag,

JC
joecannes
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:00 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: choosecornwall.ca

Post by joecannes »

One question, does anyone know how I can change "en_US" and "fr_FR" in the URL string to "eng" and "fra"?

Any step in the right direction would help!


Thanks,

JC
User avatar
tophers
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 7:25 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: choosecornwall.ca

Post by tophers »

joecannes wrote: Thanks for the suggestions, will look into the video page in the next round of edits , and re-arranging the sitemap...I thought the {sitemap} tag was depreciated though, just checked, and I was using the {site_mapper} tag,

JC
You're right - it should be used with start_page or start_element now (the Menu Manager parameters). I've been using 1.4.1 for a while and just switched over, and need to update a few tags. Thanks.
User avatar
christiaans
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:37 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: choosecornwall.ca

Post by christiaans »

joecannes wrote: One question, does anyone know how I can change "en_US" and "fr_FR" in the URL string to "eng" and "fra"?

Any step in the right direction would help!


Thanks,

JC

Take a look in the MLE help section, there's a very handy way to fix it :)..
Post Reply

Return to “CMS Show Off”