• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Spain CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:13 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 183
Hi,

I am a complete newbie to CMSMS, installed my first one a couple of hours ago. I am using the MLE. In the two additional languages I have installed (Spanish and Swedish), a couple of standard terms are not translated; breadcrumb "You are here" and page "Next Page" and "Previous Page", or they are hardcoded instead of a variable. How do I find / change / debug this?


Thanks in advance


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:08 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:39 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Norway
they are hardcoded in your template....  see the comments there

_________________
ReneH 8-)
A search will save you hours waiting for an answer! Image


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:15 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 183
Thanks, found it but no comments in the template.
So I should add a variable there and something in the text files? Some explicit advice please?!

Same thing applies for the "News" title and a few others...


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:23 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:29 pm
Posts: 4968
Location: Raalte, the Netherlands
Check the template again....

There is a

News

in the sidebar-area. That is the coded string for News.... Rename that to whatever you want.

In the relational-links area, below the {content} call, there is the prev/next set, where one has a fixed label. Without the specific label, your frontend language label from translations is used.

Check for "Relational" and you will find the position, also the comment about this is there ;)

Ronny


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:45 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 183
While poking around with this, (editing the template) the site went down.
Now the admin page has no template / stylesheet abd the front is completely down... >:( 

Re-installing is not a big deal but I'd like to know why / how / what can be done.....

Any ideas?


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:56 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 183
Things I tried that did not help.

- Clear the web cashe files
- Swap tp other (unused/unedited) templates
- Swapped to other browser
- Restart web server

The only page that looks OK is the admin login page.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 3:00 am 
That depends on what you were poking into. If you poked into files, then you can overwrite the files by FTP. If it was template, you can import the template again. PM someone a link - picture is worth a thousand words. Also try selecting another template/stylesheet set for all of your pages.


Top
   
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:59 am 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:29 pm
Posts: 4968
Location: Raalte, the Netherlands
Where have you been changing stuff?

In Layout -> Templates? As modifications there shouldnt break the backend...
And for the translations, what did you change to the 2 mentioned lines? As those were labels, not logic, so nothing could break by doing so....

Ronny


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:25 am 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 183
I was editing layout => Templates, The problem was most likely not related. I tried switching to other unused templates but that did not help. I ened up re-installing all the files on the same database table and it's OK now.

I forgot to mention before, I am a php newbie as welll, so I'd reallly appreciate some direct / explicit advice on what the changes should look like.

I can find the strings I want to change in the templates.
- what should the template changes look like? (yes total newbie  >:( )
- where do I find the translations? Which files? Are there already string variables defined for these texts or do I need to create them?

Otherwise, the multilanguage support is really brilliant and simple! I have been looking for something like this for a long time!


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:28 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 183
Oh, how about this;

- I add a new variable to the language file (under news)

Code:
$lang['news_title']='News';


In the template I change
Code:
<h2>News</h2>


Code:
<?php
print ($lang['news_title']) ;
?>


But this returns nothing....

So what am I doing wrong?

Is there a tag for text variables?


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 3:52 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:29 pm
Posts: 4968
Location: Raalte, the Netherlands
Quote:

News




When you change that to

Quote:

Nieuws




then the head should state "Nieuws" above the entries instead of "News".... When you want non-hardcoded labels changed to another language, then you should set your frontend-language. That will show all translatable labels, as translated....

Or else, could you post a screenshot of what you see, and what label should have another language?

Ronny


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:28 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 183
I have a site with three languages. The content in three languages works fine, including different news in each languages, different links etc.

A test site is here; www.itsdot.com

It will move to the right domain when ready.

I was assuming I should replace the hardcoded texts with a variable, with a text value depending on the selected language. But you suggest I use a template per language instead, and change the texts in each template? Correct? I think I would prefer using one template, if that approach is feasable.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:30 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Posts: 12664
Location: Arizona
There is some post about using the {$lang} variable in this MLE thread...

_________________
Check ver. CMSMS, PHP, server OS, in System Information page.
Default content http://multiintech.com/defaultcontent/
People are Wonderful
Business is Great
Life is Terrific
Ever wonder what happened to the Album module? Well it is alive and well.
http://album.multiintech.com/
Image


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:44 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:02 pm
Posts: 183
Solved  ;D

I volonteer to write a 1.6.6 MLE newbie manual for cmsms-dummies if one of you oldies could double-check it?


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Complete newbie, translation of a few terms missing?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:54 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:29 pm
Posts: 4968
Location: Raalte, the Netherlands
I cant read that, as I dont do anything with MLE.... I missed that line in the original post and was answering CORE... So I pass for MLE ;)

Ronny


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Hosting Nation - Managed CMSMS Hosting