• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Spain CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MLE and News
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:50 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 144
Location: Southern France
Hi all,

Yes I've read previous questions on this topic, but I just want to be sure.

On MLE 1.5.2 : When I create a new Content Page, I have a selector to choose the language. When I create a News, I don't have the language selector.

Is this the standard behaviour ?
---- (I tend to think "Yes", as the Forge has a very old "Create a MLE News" open item + we don't give extra SQL to the News tables)
or
Did I mess the install or miss a post ?

If it's the standard behaviour, this means I have to create each New 4 times, 1 per language, and treat them as separate ?

If that the case, and as V 2.0 doesn't seem to appear, I will probably be volunteer to extend the News module...

Thanks,

Fred (still using CMSMS !)


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:16 am 
Offline
Support Guru
Support Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 5:12 pm
Posts: 4807
Location: Ferrara, Italy
fredt \fredt:
If it's the standard behaviour, this means I have to create each New 4 times, 1 per language, and treat them as separate ?


Yes, use News categories and add article for each language (or in some languages only), view here

Alby

_________________
Former Italian Admin and Moderator
Multilingual: MLE is not CMSMS


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 1:11 am 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:42 am
Posts: 64
Hi,

by the way, thank you very much for this module !

I have set up my news 3 categories in both english and french. I would like to show the latest, in any of my 3 categories, in my header. I'm not too sure how to do this based on <$lang> ?

Thank you !


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:42 am 
Offline
Support Guru
Support Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 5:12 pm
Posts: 4807
Location: Ferrara, Italy
josee225 \josee225:
I have set up my news 3 categories in both english and french. I would like to show the latest, in any of my 3 categories, in my header. I'm not too sure how to do this based on <$lang> ?


Look help module for category param

Alby

_________________
Former Italian Admin and Moderator
Multilingual: MLE is not CMSMS


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 4:59 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:42 am
Posts: 64
I have 3 categories in news, with 2 languages:
nouveautes-fr_FR
offres-fr_FR
echantilllons-fr_FR
nouveautes-en_US
offres-en_US
echantilllons-en_US

Althought I have 3 categories, I would like to show the most recent one, regardless of the category, on my home page. You mentionned in your last post to check the News param. Unfortunately, I tried a few different things, without success:

{news number='1' summarytemplate="sommaire-header" lang="$lang"} -> shows the most recent article, in english, because the english version is the latest...

{news number='1' summarytemplate="sommaire-header" articleid="-1" lang="$lang"} -> same result as the first try

I then put all my categories in General-fr_FR and General-en_US respectively. Then:
{news number='1' summarytemplate="sommaire-header" category="General-$lang" articleid="-1"} -> no news is showing at all !

I just can't figure it out I guess, but it is very frustrating ! So please, if anybody figured it out, let us know how to fix this !


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:29 pm 
Offline
Support Guru
Support Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 5:12 pm
Posts: 4807
Location: Ferrara, Italy
josee225 \josee225:
I then put all my categories in General-fr_FR and General-en_US respectively. Then:
{news number='1' summarytemplate="sommaire-header" category="General-$lang" articleid="-1"} -> no news is showing at all !


Where you have found articleid param in a summary display?

Alby

_________________
Former Italian Admin and Moderator
Multilingual: MLE is not CMSMS


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:10 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:42 am
Posts: 64
I found it in the News help, right from my CMSMS installation.

Thank you for your quick response !


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:50 pm 
Offline
Support Guru
Support Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 5:12 pm
Posts: 4807
Location: Ferrara, Italy
josee225 \josee225:
I found it in the News help, right from my CMSMS installation.


News help say of "detail" and not "summary"
Drop articleid and look to

Alby

_________________
Former Italian Admin and Moderator
Multilingual: MLE is not CMSMS


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:59 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:42 am
Posts: 64
Am I bad ! So sorry about that ! So now I dropped the articleid. And tried a few things:

{news number="1" summarytemplate="sommaire-header" category="General-$lang"} -> nothing showing up (all my articles are in sub-categories, nested in the General category.

I also tried this: {news number="1" summarytemplate="sommaire-header" lang="$lang"} -> I'm back to the english only article (the very last one I created), but I have the [more] in the right language.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:04 pm 
Offline
Support Guru
Support Guru
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 5:12 pm
Posts: 4807
Location: Ferrara, Italy
josee225 \josee225:
{news number="1" summarytemplate="sommaire-header" category="General-$lang"} -> nothing showing up (all my articles are in sub-categories, nested in the General category.


If are in subcategories (from help) you must use *
{news summarytemplate="sommaire-header" category="General-$lang*"}

Alby

_________________
Former Italian Admin and Moderator
Multilingual: MLE is not CMSMS


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: MLE and News
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:08 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:42 am
Posts: 64
Thank you soooooo much !


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Hosting Nation - Managed CMSMS Hosting