Arabic language issue

This is a FORK of the CMS Made Simple project and is not oficially supported in any way by the CMS Made Simple development team.
Locked
JR
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:36 pm

Arabic language issue

Post by JR »

Hello,

In CMSMS MLE 1.6, there is not arabic language. I have tried to make a copy of fr_FR.php in the News module to ar_LB.php and translate some texts in it. Of course I was forced to save the file under "unicode text document" otherwise the arabic text will be saved as question marks. With the file being saved like this, CMSMS is not able to read it when clicking on the correspondent flag.
So please, how may I integrate Arabic language in my site?


Thanks for your reply.

JR
alby

Re: Arabic language issue

Post by alby »

JR wrote:In CMSMS MLE 1.6, there is not arabic language. I have tried to make a copy of fr_FR.php in the News module to ar_LB.php and translate some texts in it. Of course I was forced to save the file under "unicode text document" otherwise the arabic text will be saved as question marks. With the file being saved like this, CMSMS is not able to read it when clicking on the correspondent flag.
So please, how may I integrate Arabic language in my site?


CMSMS MLE use languages of CMSMS.
Add a new languages (example fr_FR) but use:

DB block: ar
Parent: ar
Label URL: ar_LB (or ar or lb or whatever...)
Flag: look name of your flag (ex: ar.png)
Text: "Native text of State"
Locale: locale for this language in your server

Save and immediatly edit config_lang.php:
substitute:
locale_cms: fr_FR => ar_LB

Now you must copy/past/edit in your modules (at least for frontend) modules/MODULE/lang/ext folder
fr_FR.php in az_LB.php

HOWEVER why not share translations in CMSMS?

Alby
JR
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:36 pm

Re: Arabic language issue

Post by JR »

Hi Alby,

Thanks for your quick reply.

In fact, I figured out this manipulation and I did exactly what you described, however for locales I used ar_LB.UTF-8 in config_lang.php like this:

'ar_LB' => array(
'locale_cms'=>'ar_LB',
'block'=>'ar',
'parent'=>'ar',
'flag'=>'Arabe',
'text'=>'??????',
'locale'=>'ar_LB.UTF-8'
),

My server has arabic already since I can write arabic through my Keyboard, so when I change text=Arabic description and save the file as text document, on re-opening it the Arabic description appears in question marks (as you can see above - replaced by Huh icon in this post), I should save the file under 'unicode text document' to preserve the Arabic description. When I do this, this is what I get in the first lines when I call my site:

��<�?�p�h�p� � � � �/�*�*�*�*�*�*�*�*�*� � � �S�I�N�T�A�X�:� � � �'�K�E�Y�'� �=�>� �a�r�r�a�y�(� � � �'�l�o�c�a�l�e�_�c�m�s�'� �=�>� �'�L�O�C�A�L�E� �L�A�N�G�U�A�G�E� �I�N� �C�M�S�M�S�'�,� �/�/�M�A�N�D�A�T�O�R�Y� �O�n�e� �v�a�l�i�d� �C�M�S�M�S� �l�o�c�a�l�e� �o�r� �n�e�a�r� �t�o� � � �'�b�l�o�c�k�'� �=�>� �'�D�A�T�A�B�A�S�E� �K�E�Y�'�,� �/�/�M�A�N�D�A�T�O�R�Y� �A�N�D� �U�N�I�Q�U�E� �I�n� �g�e�n�e�r�a�l� �2� �c�h�a�r�s� �s�a�m�e� �o�f� �'�p�a�r�e�n�t�'� � � �'�p�a�r�e�n�t�'� �=�>� �'�P�A�R�E�N�T� �L�A�N�G�U�A�G�E�'�,� �/�/�O�P�T�I�O�N�A�L� �2� �c�h�a�r�s� �p�a�r�e�n�t� �l�a�n�g�u�a�g�e�,� �i�f� �y�o�u� �h�a�v�e� �o�t�h�e�r�s� �s�e�t� �t�o� �5� �W�I�T�H� �D�A�S�H�,� �e�x�:� �e�n�-�A�U� � � �'�f�l�a�g�'� �=�>� �'�H�T�M�L� �I�M�G� �T�A�G� �F�O�R� �L�O�C�A�L�E� �F�L�A�G�'�,� �/�/�M�A�N�D�A�T�O�R�Y� �A�B�S�O�L�U�T�E� �U�R�L� �P�A�T�H� � � �'�t�e�x�t�'� �=�>� �'�N�A�T�I�V�E� �L�A�N�G�U�A�G�E�'�,� �/�/�O�P�T�I�O�N�A�L� �U�s�e� �f�o�r� �l�a�n�g� �p�l�u�g�i�n� �i�f� �y�o�u� �d�o�n�'�t� �u�s�e� �f�l�a�g�s� �i�c�o�n� � � �'�l�o�c�a�l�e�'� �=�>� �'�S�E�R�V.

As to participate in translation activities, I should say that I delegate the arabic content part normally to another people since I am not able to write good arabic texts nor translation. Sorry.
alby

Re: Arabic language issue

Post by alby »

JR wrote:My server has arabic already since I can write arabic through my Keyboard, so when I change text=Arabic description and save the file as text document, on re-opening it the Arabic description appears in question marks (as you can see above - replaced by Huh icon in this post), I should save the file under 'unicode text document' to preserve the Arabic description. When I do this, this is what I get in the first lines when I call my site:


you must save in UTF-8 (WITHOUT BOM)
if you open config_lang again, text must be normal text
Error is because loading a bad file


JR wrote:As to participate in translation activities, I should say that I delegate the arabic content part normally to another people since I am not able to write good arabic texts nor translation. Sorry.


There are 2 projects:
- http://dev.cmsmadesimple.org/projects/cmsar - 2006 with no activity
- http://dev.cmsmadesimple.org/projects/arabic - 2008 with activity but no translations

"Request To Join Project" in second project (I see activity in end 2008). If admin not answer, post a message in Translation forum that Reneh join you in that project

Alby
JR
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:36 pm

Re: Arabic language issue

Post by JR »

Thanks Alby, it is great. I was using Wordpad, it does not have this feature. I am using Notepad now and I am saving under UTF-8.  It is SOLVED. I should download a good PHP editor.

Thanks
vilkis

Re: Arabic language issue

Post by vilkis »

I use notepad++.
vilkis
Locked

Return to “[locked] CMSMS MLE fork”