• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Spain CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Develop in a V2 subfolder, then launch / mask with .htac
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 5:19 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Posts: 12674
Location: Arizona
I copy all the folders/files to the root then make a new DB and import the original into it and change all the DB and server paths in the [[root]] config.php...

This will give you 2 working CMSMS installs, V2 can be used for testing module upgrades, template changes, etc. so the live one doesn't get messed up if you make any mistakes etc...

_________________
Check ver. CMSMS, PHP, server OS, in System Information page.
Default content http://multiintech.com/defaultcontent/
People are Wonderful
Business is Great
Life is Terrific
Ever wonder what happened to the Album module? Well it is alive and well.
http://album.multiintech.com/
$1


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Develop in a V2 subfolder, then launch / mask with .htac
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:24 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Posts: 12674
Location: Arizona
I only use htaccess for pretty URLs, other wise the subfolder site is reached by thesite.com/subfolder...

Look in my signature for an example...

_________________
Check ver. CMSMS, PHP, server OS, in System Information page.
Default content http://multiintech.com/defaultcontent/
People are Wonderful
Business is Great
Life is Terrific
Ever wonder what happened to the Album module? Well it is alive and well.
http://album.multiintech.com/
$1


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Develop in a V2 subfolder, then launch / mask with .htac
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:15 am 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:15 am
Posts: 350
Hi Samalah,

A nice trick to have up my .htaccess sleeve just in case... :)
Thx for sharing!

Greetings,
Manuel


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Develop in a V2 subfolder, then launch / mask with .htac
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 4:29 pm 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:39 pm
Posts: 1369
What I do on CPanel hosts is to make a sym-link from public_html to ~/sites/V1 (V2, etc)

When I'm ready to go live, I direct my public_html link to point to the right version.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Hosting Nation - Managed CMSMS Hosting