• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Spain CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Artisteer Template Menu
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:25 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:35 pm
Posts: 27
Hello CMSMS staff and users, I'm a new user of CMSMS and I'm very happy with it.

Let me tell you a little about my story before proceeding to the main contents of the stuff.
When I was a student on college a company's friend contacted me wishing for a very simple website. I made one using pure html and CSS and a couple of flash banners everyone got satisfied with the results. 3 Years later I work for that company, and on my spare time I decided to give a new look and make it easier to manage the contents (specially here the boss loves new campaigns every only-god-knows time) and changing the menu, and the sidebars started to become a little annoying. At the same time I got involved on linux firewall distro and discovered that it included a module for making web galleries that got my atention. The author mentioned an strange word for me, so I went down to google and found what joomla was.

I decided that it was my best option (my only option I didn't know about open-source CMS's, and I'm not a PHP or any other scripting or server-side languages savyy).

I found several cool templates, saw another word "artisteer" found a demo, and seemed a very nice option, convinced the boss to buy the pro version and I promised I would have a very easy to use and stable website running in a bliss.

WROOOOOOOOOOOOONG!!!! >:(

I felt very disapointed on such cms, It was everything but easy to use, specially the menus and creating content for the editor staff was not very easy, and all the terminology almost cryptic hidden on thousands of page of documentation (believe me I love reading TFM but it was really annoying to follow up with it and all those plugins needed for the most common tasks) that i gave up on it. One day after almost 8 monts without a hope I just googled in frustration: that_CMS_that_i_wont_repeat_its_name sucks.

And voila I found i was not the only one. Then a lot of people talked about several open-source CMS and everything pointed for robustness, support, community, and most of all easy-of-use to CMSMS. I decided to give it a try. And believe me in less than 10 days I had a brand new website up & running. CMSMS it's awesome.

Since I already had Artisteer and I'm not a code expert but i have the logics, I tried to hack the artisteer template to work with cmsms and I Made it (I'm still wondering some stuff, but believe artisteer code on CSS and HTML is at some time very cryptic)

I've seen several people asking for clear and understandable tutorials for converting artisteer templates for CMSMS. And I agree with most of them, the mint-chocolate video is not very clear about it. And artisteer code isn't friendly at all.

I found by accident something about it on Roy porter's blog (I don't know if I'm allowed to post links, If I do notify me, and I update this thread, but for now i won't post the link) It has some clear instructions but it was based on Artisteer Beta V3. Since I use Artisteer 2.2 some of the name on the tags change a lot. Also Artisteer V3 supports Jquery. But it was clearly a good advice.

The only thing that never worked was the menu as it was on that page, It mixed the levels of the elements and the list was kinda limited to 2 levels regardles of depth. So I took the simple css menu template from CMSMS and modified it.

After several trial and error hours and mods, finally I made it work. Be careful when working with this stuff and using mozilla/firefox, is a very nice browser (the one I prefer for all my browsing and debugging needings) but is very permissive with some non-compliant code, so sometimes it worked in firefox but not at all on safari, ie, opera, or chrome.

I recurred to w3c validator and found several flaws on my coding and finally was able to make it to work.

I know it might not be optimal code, since I don't understand some stuff and if someone is savyy enough on cmsms nomenclature and php code please fix it and post it on this forum or on a blog so it is accesible to everyone.

Here is my code (it works with Artisteer 2.2 template on CMSMS 1.9.1)
This code is only for the menu. If you wish to see the whole walthrough for converting templates from Artisteer from CMSMS google
\$1:
roy porter cmsms artisteer.


If admins allow me to post the link I'll surely put it.


\$1:
{* CSS classes used in this template:
.currentpage - The active/current page
.bullet_sectionheader - To style section header
hr.separator - To style the ruler for the separator *}
{if $count > 0}

      {*<ul class="clearfix">*}
     <ul class="art-menu"> 


      {foreach from=$nodelist item=node}
                  {if $node->depth > $node->prevdepth}
                           
                           {repeat string="
                           <ul>
                           " times=$node->depth-$node->prevdepth}
                       {elseif $node->depth < $node->prevdepth}
                           {repeat string="</li></ul>" times=$node->prevdepth-$node->depth}
                              
                              </li>
                        {elseif $node->index > 0}
                              </li>
                  {/if}
                  
                  {if $node->current == true}  {*ACTIVE for Level 1 non subitem*}
                                          <li>
                                          <a class=" active"
                                               href="{$node->url}">
                                                {if $node->target ne ""} target="{$node->target}"{/if}
                                                {if $node->depth == 1}
                                                   <span class="l"></span>
                                                   <span class="r"></span>
                                                   <span class="t">
                                                {/if}
                                                {$node->menutext}
                                                {if $node->depth == 1}
                                                          </span>
                                                {/if}       
                                             </a>
                                                                  
                                                   
                              
                    {elseif $node->parent == true && $node->depth == 1 and $node->type != 'sectionheader' and $node->type != 'separator'}
                                                                  
                                   <li class=" active">  {*Active when submenu item is selected} *}
                                    <a class=" active" href="{$node->url}">
                                           {if $node->depth == 1}   <span class="l"></span><span class="r"></span><span class="t">
                                             {/if}
                                             {if $node->target ne ""} target="{$node->target}"
                                             {/if}
                                            {$node->menutext}
                                             {if $node->depth == 1}</span>
                                             {/if}    
                                             
                                       </a>
                              {elseif $node->type == 'sectionheader' }
                                                <li  {* class="sectionheader"> *}
                                                    {if $node->parent == true && $node->depth == 1 and $node->type == 'sectionheader' and $node->type != 'separator'}
                                                      class=" active">
                                                          <a class=" active"
                                                         
                                                
                                                     {else}
                                                          >
                                                           <a
                                                      {/if}
                                                      
                                                      
                                                      href="javascript:void()" onclick="return myMethod('test');">
                                                              <span class="l"></span><span class="r"></span><span class="t">
                                                               {$node->menutext}
                                                              </span>
                                                  
                                           
                                              </a>
                             
                        {elseif $node->type == 'separator'}
                                 <li style="list-style-type: none;">
                                       <hr class="separator" />
                        {else}
                              <li><a href="{$node->url}">
                              {if $node->depth == 1}<span class="l"></span><span class="r"></span><span class="t">{/if}
                              {if $node->target ne ""} target="{$node->target}"{/if}
                                
                              {$node->menutext}
                              
                              {if $node->depth == 1}
                                     </span>
                              {/if}   
                              
                              </a> {/if}
                       
   {/foreach}
            
            {repeat string="</li>
</ul>
" times=$node->depth-1}
</li>
</ul>
{/if}


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Artisteer Template Menu
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 3:52 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Posts: 12675
Location: Arizona
You can post links to things like that, but...

I've looked at some of the artisteer templates and sites using them and I have to say they use way more divs, spans, etc. than are needed, even for a fluid layout (non fixed width), if you showed me what menu you were trying to make I bet I could use one of the default menu templates with less code in them to do the exact same thing, but I've been using CMSMS since march of 2006 and was doing templates for a couple years before that by hand in notepad...

_________________
Check ver. CMSMS, PHP, server OS, in System Information page.
Default content http://multiintech.com/defaultcontent/
People are Wonderful
Business is Great
Life is Terrific
Ever wonder what happened to the Album module? Well it is alive and well.
http://album.multiintech.com/
$1


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Artisteer Template Menu
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 4:58 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:35 pm
Posts: 27
Dr.CSS \Dr.CSS:
You can post links to things like that, but...


Hello Dr. CSS adn all CMS MS usersI'm so glad from getting a response on my first thread. Since a power user on the forum allowed i'm posting the link. to Roy Porter's Blog

http://www.porter.me.uk/index.php?mact= ... eturnid=56

Dr.CSS \Dr.CSS:

I've looked at some of the artisteer templates and sites using them and I have to say they use way more divs, spans, etc. than are needed, even for a fluid layout (non fixed width), if you showed me what menu you were trying to make I bet I could use one of the default menu templates with less code in them to do the exact same thing, but I've been using CMSMS since march of 2006 and was doing templates for a couple years before that by hand in notepad...




About the excesive divs and spans on Artisteer templates that's what I meant when I said that Artisteer code becomes very obscure. Yeah I know it's very overbloated, but is very easy and fast create a good looking (not awesome, just good  ;) ) website template that is w3c compliant and can be uploaded asap to the website, some clients don't even understand why pages look good on all browsers but IE and claim that the problem is the page and not the browser, and you can't force the website visitors to use a real browser since a lot of them just think that IE is the one and only.

So if you can make a default cmsms template menu work with artisteer made template it could be awesome for artisteer+cmsms community, I will make a zip with the html template  so you can figure a more efficient way to  do this menu. Believe a lot of people will be happy

Thanks


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
A2 Hosting