• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:41 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1425
Location: Maidenhead, UK
What might this be?

Quote:
Warning: preg_match(): Compilation failed: unrecognized character after (?< at offset 4 in /web1/user34855/website/lib/smarty/Smarty.class.php on line 1217

Fatal error: Uncaught --> Smarty: Unable to load template 'file:cmsms-error-console.tpl' <-- thrown in /web1/user34855/website/lib/smarty/sysplugins/smarty_internal_template.php on line 185

Showing on the front end of an upgraded site with debug = true.

Background: This is a new client but an old site of theirs. Was running 1.9.2 with some errors, it was a mess. I copied over to my (good) hosting and upgraded successfully - it is working fine on my server at version 2.2.3.1.

Copying it back to their (not good) hosting, I get the above errors.

I have temporarily put phpinfo for their hosting here, they are running PHP 5.5.17:
'http://bit.ly/2vLLZP6

What I have already tried:
Turned on debug.
Re-uploaded Smarty.class.php in case there was an FTP error on upload (no alternative to FTP on their hosting, sadly).
Cleared cache on CMSMS by deleting files in tmp.
Cleared browser cache.
Searched forum.
Drank coffee.
:'(

_________________
To copy System Information to the forum:
https://docs.cmsmadesimple.org/troubles ... nformation

CMS Made Simple Geekmoots attended:
Nottingham, UK 2012 | Ghent, Belgium 2015 | Leicester, UK 2016


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 3:07 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Posts: 7966
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada
I have not seen this issue before.

This smells to me like a PHP issue... or at least a smarty issue.
But chasing through the changelogs of both PHP and smarty did not point out anything glaringly obvious.

So I would double check your config.php, clear the cache once again and see if the problem magically goes away.

If it does not, then it means more digging. Maybe try to upgrade PHP versions on that host... and if that does not work then we would have to get creative.

_________________
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 3:17 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:36 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Marlow, UK
Did you try re-uploading the cmsms-error-console.tpl file as well as Smarty? (It lives in lib/assets/templates )

Can you run the installer on this host to refresh the files? If not then I suspect it's time to persuade your client to switch hosts....


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:11 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1425
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Thank you both for your suggestions.

I deleted cmsms-error-console.tpl file completely - no change in error message.

Then I re-uploaded cmsms-error-console.tpl file - again no change.

Then I uploaded cmsms-2.2.3.1-install.php and ran it to do a refresh. I see:

Quote:
Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'PharException' with message 'phar "/web1/user34855/website/cmsms-2.2.3.1-install.php" SHA1 signature could not be verified: broken signature' in /web1/user34855/website/cmsms-2.2.3.1-install.php:8 Stack trace: #0 /web1/user34855/website/cmsms-2.2.3.1-install.php(8): Phar::webPhar(NULL, 'index.php') #1 {main} thrown in /web1/user34855/website/cmsms-2.2.3.1-install.php on line 8

Does that help diagnose what is wrong?

_________________
To copy System Information to the forum:
https://docs.cmsmadesimple.org/troubles ... nformation

CMS Made Simple Geekmoots attended:
Nottingham, UK 2012 | Ghent, Belgium 2015 | Leicester, UK 2016


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:14 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Posts: 7966
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada
The phar error means you uploaded the installation assistant in ASCII mode instead of binary mode.

_________________
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:40 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1425
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Oooops. ;D Thank you.

I have now uploaded in binary. The freshen process is working but without CSS and images. Odd.

In step 3 Tests I see:

Quote:
Status Test
Check for ziparchive function
Check for multibyte support
Multibyte support is not enabled in your configuration
Ensuring that output buffering is enabled
Checking disabled functions
Note: one or more PHP core functions are disabled. This can have negative impact on your CMSMS installation, particularly with third party extensions. Please keep an eye on your error log. Your disabled functions are:

chmod
Test if we can make outgoing HTTP connections
We encountered problems connecting to a remote URL. This will limit some of the functionality of CMS Made Simple

See also screenshot.

Attachment:
File comment: Freshen process step 3
install.jpg
install.jpg [ 294.38 KiB | Viewed 2415 times ]

_________________
To copy System Information to the forum:
https://docs.cmsmadesimple.org/troubles ... nformation

CMS Made Simple Geekmoots attended:
Nottingham, UK 2012 | Ghent, Belgium 2015 | Leicester, UK 2016


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:16 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1425
Location: Maidenhead, UK
"Check for multibyte support" is the only failure. The rest are warnings.

Any ideas on what I can try to progress this?

Thanks

_________________
To copy System Information to the forum:
https://docs.cmsmadesimple.org/troubles ... nformation

CMS Made Simple Geekmoots attended:
Nottingham, UK 2012 | Ghent, Belgium 2015 | Leicester, UK 2016


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:50 am 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:36 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Marlow, UK
You should definitely ask your host to enable the mbstring extension anyway, but if your css / js files aren't being loaded then I think that points to a different issue.

Can you check your htaccess file for any odd rewrite rules? Or just remove it completely to see if you can load the site and then we can narrow it down.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:17 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1425
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Thanks scooper. I have asked for multibyte support (mbstring extension) but I suspect the answer will be no. In which case it looks like CMSMS is out of the question. That's fine I will just move the site.

You were absolutely right, there was a .htaccess file lurking in the root. :P However, even after removing it I still get the same install/refresh pages without css/js. And the front end site itself is the same. (After clearing browser cache too). There is no url_rewriting in the config.php file.

_________________
To copy System Information to the forum:
https://docs.cmsmadesimple.org/troubles ... nformation

CMS Made Simple Geekmoots attended:
Nottingham, UK 2012 | Ghent, Belgium 2015 | Leicester, UK 2016


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Can't load cmsms-error-console.tpl after upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:28 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1425
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Just to finish this one off:

Host enabled mbstring (eventually). Installation still runs with no CSS/JS. It gets past the mbstring check. But it fails with a memory error:

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 16777216 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 32769 bytes) in phar:///web1/user34855/website/cmsms-2.2.3.1-install.php/app/class.cms_install.php on line 318

Life itself isn't long enough to deal with hosting problems like this. I have told the client he has to move his site.

Lesson learnt: avoid Easily hosting, at all costs. (It was client's choice not mine).

Thanks again for assistance.

_________________
To copy System Information to the forum:
https://docs.cmsmadesimple.org/troubles ... nformation

CMS Made Simple Geekmoots attended:
Nottingham, UK 2012 | Ghent, Belgium 2015 | Leicester, UK 2016


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Hosting Nation - Managed CMSMS Hosting