Troubles upgrading off 1.12.2

Help with getting the CMS CORE package up and running. This does not include 3rd party modules, PHP scripts, anything downloaded via module manager or from any external source.
mgabe

Troubles upgrading off 1.12.2

Post by mgabe »

Hello,

Forewarning, I'm pretty new to CMS Made Simple. I took over managing a website for a client who was setup with CMSMS but their previous developer never upgraded and they were sitting at 1.11.12.

Anyways, I got them successfully upgraded to 1.12.2. It wasn't exactly fun because the old developer had written a lot of custom code into the index.php and include.php files. Thankfully CMSMS provided diff-file downloads so I could compare and migrate manually.

Anyways, I thought the next step would be to go from 1.12.2 to 2.0 and then work my way through the 2.0 upgrades. But I found out the upgrade is done over PHAR instead of manual where I could use diff.

So, I tried the upgrade and... nothing happened. Well, something did, it created about 19,000 index.html files in every subfolder according to `git status`. But the installer hangs on the section which I assume it should be updating the database. It just sits there, never proceeds and I cannot click on to continue.

I guess that is the history and brings me to a couple of questions.

1. Am I wasting time trying to upgrade from 1.12.2 to 2.0. Can I just work on upgrading to 1.12.2 to the latest (2.2.1 as of this writing).
2. Is it possible to not use the PHAR installer and manually do it somehow?
3. Any ideas why it just hangs on the database update? All logs just stop writing. Nothing in the tables get updated.