Content Manager inaccessible

Help with getting the CMS CORE package up and running. This does not include 3rd party modules, PHP scripts, anything downloaded via module manager or from any external source.
Locked
SFITCS
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 8:59 am

Content Manager inaccessible

Post by SFITCS »

If I access it with https it gives a white panel, if I switch to http I get the pageloading image (which doesn't animate). In https mode I get a warning from the browsers (Chromium, Firefox, and Chrome) that parts of the page have been blocked as insecure.

Those parts appear to be:-
<__script__ type="text/javascript" src="http://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc/module ... "></__script>
<__script__ type="text/javascript" src="http://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc/module ... "></__script>
<__script__ type="text/javascript" src="http://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc/module ... "></__script>
<__script__ type="text/javascript" src="http://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc/module ... "></__script>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="http://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc/module ... jrac.css"/>
all just before the head section. And:-
<li class="nav"><a href="http://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc/index.php" class="viewsite" target="_blank" title="View&nbsp;Site" >View&nbsp;Site</a></li>
Content -> CGCalendar does not load in either http or https mode.

Cache has been flushed, apache has been restarted, browser caches have been flushed also.

Nothing I recognise as errors when I enable debug mode in config.php (see attached). apachectl configtest gives Syntax OK. dmesg shows no errors. No shortage of disk space, and plenty of untouched RAM and CPU resources.

The apache error log gives:-
PHP Notice: Only variable references should be returned by reference in /var/www/hsructtc/lib/classes/class.useroperations.inc.php on line 197, referer: https://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc/admin/login.php
which refers to

Code: Select all

if( $id ) return self::LoadUserByID($id);
Disabling .htaccess does nothing useful.

OS is Debian Jessie, webserver is apache2 v2.4.10-10+deb8u, all prerequisites were satisfied and no errors or warnings were generated during installation (with ?debug=1 appended to the URL).

config.php

Code: Select all

$config['dbms'] = 'mysqli';
$config['db_hostname'] = 'localhost';
$config['db_username'] = '$someUser';
$config['db_password'] = '$somePassword';
$config['db_name'] = 'hsructtc';
$config['db_prefix'] = 'cms_';
$config['timezone'] = 'Australia/Melbourne';
$config['root_url'] = 'http://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc';
$config['ssl_url'] = 'https://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc';
$config['admin_dir'] = 'admin';
$config['admin_url'] = 'https://aspire.sunnyside/hsructtc/admin';
CMSMS information:-
Cms Version: 2.1.5
Installed Modules:
AdminSearch: 1.0.2
CGCalendar: 2.1.4.2
CGExtensions: 1.53.12
CGSimpleSmarty: 2.1.4
CGSnapshot: 1.2.1
CMSContentManager: 1.1.1
CMSMailer: 6.2.14
DesignManager: 1.1.1
FileManager: 1.5.2
MicroTiny: 2.0.3
ModuleManager: 2.0.4
Navigator: 1.0.3
News: 2.50.5
OwnersManual: 1.0.3
Search: 1.50.2

Config Information:
php_memory_limit:
max_upload_size: 11000000
url_rewriting: none
page_extension:
query_var: page
auto_alias_content: true
locale:
set_names: true
timezone: Australia/Melbourne
permissive_smarty: false

Php Information:
phpversion: 5.6.24-0+deb8u1
md5_function: On (True)
json_function: On (True)
gd_version: 2
tempnam_function: On (True)
magic_quotes_runtime: Off (False)
E_ALL: 22527
E_STRICT: 0
E_DEPRECATED: 0
test_file_timedifference: No time difference found
test_db_timedifference: No time difference found
create_dir_and_file: 1
memory_limit: 128M
max_execution_time: 90
register_globals: Off (False)
output_buffering: 4096
disable_functions:
open_basedir:
test_remote_url: Success
file_uploads: On (True)
post_max_size: 11M
upload_max_filesize: 11M
session_save_path: /var/lib/php5/sessions (1733)
session_use_cookies: On (True)
xml_function: On (True)
xmlreader_class: On (True)
check_ini_set: On (True)
curl: On

Performance Information:
allow_browser_cache: Off (False)
browser_cache_expiry: 60
php_opcache: On (True)
smarty_cache: Off (False)
smarty_compilecheck: Off (False)
smarty_cache_udt: Off (False)
auto_clear_cache_age: On (True)
Server Information:
Server Software: Apache/2.4.10 (Debian)
Server Api: apache2handler
Server Os: Linux 3.16.0-4-686-pae On i686
Server Db Type: MySQL (mysqli)
Server Db Version: 5.5.50
Server Db Grants: Found a "GRANT ALL" statement that appears to be suitable

Permission Information:
tmp: /var/www/hsructtc/tmp (0755)
tmp_cache: /var/www/hsructtc/tmp/cache (0755)
templates_c: /var/www/hsructtc/tmp/templates_c (0755)
modules: /var/www/hsructtc/modules (0755)
uploads: /var/www/hsructtc/uploads (0755)
File Creation Mask (umask): /var/www/hsructtc/tmp/cache (0755)
config_file: 0644
I've a horrible feeling it's some basic mistake I've made, but after several hours of looking at forum posts, many reviews of my settings, and a reinstall - I'm unable to find the problem (Layer 8?).

Any pointers appreciated.
Attachments
debug.tar.gz
debug.txt from Admin->Content Manager and debug.html files from loading a page
(6.77 KiB) Downloaded 210 times
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: Content Manager inaccessible

Post by calguy1000 »

I think the errors you are encountering are probably related to mixed http and https content. You should be able to see this in your javascript console.

If this is the case, then I suggest you try changing your root_url to a protocol-relative URI. i.e: without the http: or https: stuff.
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
SFITCS
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 8:59 am

Re: Content Manager inaccessible

Post by SFITCS »

Thanks for replying.
calguy1000 wrote:I think the errors you are encountering are probably related to mixed http and https content. You should be able to see this in your javascript console.
Nothing about mixed protocol in the javascript console.
calguy1000 wrote: If this is the case, then I suggest you try changing your root_url to a protocol-relative URI. i.e: without the http: or https: stuff.
No change.

To try and isolate the problem I created another Debian 8 webserver and installed a stock CMSMS, with default content, and no additional modules. Everything worked fine for https using default .htaccess and config.php. Until I tried to enable pretty urls with mod_rewrite (which was when problems started with the stock development server). But that's an issue for another post to the forum.

As it stands I can't fix the problem, but I haven't had time to rule out one of the non-default modules or a non-default apache/php config as the cause of the problem. So I'll close the thread as unresolved.
Locked

Return to “[locked] Installation, Setup and Upgrade”