errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Help with getting the CMS CORE package up and running. This does not include 3rd party modules, PHP scripts, anything downloaded via module manager or from any external source.
bob_basli
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: The Netherlands

errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by bob_basli »

Hi,
After upgrading 1.8.2 to 1.9.4.3 and then finally to 1.10.3 I'm getting these errors quite often.
What can I do about it?

Regards,
Arjan
Attachments
error-screenshot
error-screenshot
cvogt
New Member
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:10 pm

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by cvogt »

you may want to check and modify the access permissions for you tmp/cache/ folder... you can o that e.g. via ftp
bob_basli
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by bob_basli »

cvogt wrote:you may want to check and modify the access permissions for you tmp/cache/ folder... you can o that e.g. via ftp
Tried to do so and set all to permissions 777.
Does not make a difference :-(
bob_basli
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by bob_basli »

Also on the website itself I get errors
Attachments
cmsms-error2.png
cvogt
New Member
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:10 pm

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by cvogt »

apparently there is something blocking access and you'll have to figure out what it is :). possibly ask your hoster.
User avatar
Dr.CSS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12678
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Location: Arizona

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by Dr.CSS »

Check to make sure all modules are up to date and not incompatible with 1.10.* and check system info page for any yellow ! or red X...
Check ver. CMSMS, PHP, server OS, in System Information page.
Default content http://multiintech.com/defaultcontent/
People are Wonderful
Business is Great
Life is Terrific
Ever wonder what happened to the Album module? Well it is alive and well.
http://album.multiintech.com/
Image
bob_basli
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:18 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by bob_basli »

Which rights should be on the root_path? There is 0755 and it gives me a red X.
JohnnyB
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 729
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 5:05 pm
Location: OH, USA

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by JohnnyB »

Try deleting everything from the tmp/cache directory except the index.html and the .htaccess file if there is one. If that doesn't work, and if you can open the "System Information" under the Site Admin menu, copy and paste the Text Report here to show your PHP settings and server environment. Sometimes, basedir restrictions or if allow_url_fopen is Off will cause that kind of error.
Which rights should be on the root_path? There is 0755 and it gives me a red X.
Depends on the server's configurations. 0755 is acceptable for servers running PHP from a CGI process and 0777 is correct for servers running PHP from the PHP module.
alex84xela
New Member
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:31 pm

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by alex84xela »

Hi !

I have the same problem after upgrading from a very old version (1.5.4) to 1.11.1.
Everything works but the httpd cannot write etc...

I am pretty sure I'm not in safe mode.
When I chmod 777 my tmp folder, everything works fine except module manager. But when cache is cleared, I have to chmod 777 cache folders manually again.

----------------------------------------------

Cms Version: 1.11.1

Installed Modules:

CMSMailer: 5.2.1
FileManager: 1.4.0
MenuManager: 1.8.3
ModuleManager: 1.5.5
News: 2.12.8
Printing: 1.1.1
Search: 1.7.7
ThemeManager: 1.1.7
TinyMCE: 2.9.11
CGExtensions: 1.15.3
FormBrowser: 0.4
CompanyDirectory: 1.1.7
FormBuilder: 0.7.3
CMSPrinting: 1.0.3
MicroTiny: 1.2.3


Config Information:

php_memory_limit:
process_whole_template:
output_compression: false
max_upload_size: 40000000
url_rewriting: none
page_extension:
query_var: page
image_manipulation_prog: GD
auto_alias_content: true
locale:
default_encoding: utf-8
admin_encoding: utf-8
set_names: false


Php Information:

phpversion: 5.2.17
md5_function: On (Vrai)
gd_version: 2
tempnam_function: On (Vrai)
magic_quotes_runtime: Off (Faux)
E_STRICT: 0
memory_limit: 90M
max_execution_time: 50000
output_buffering: 0
safe_mode: Off (Faux)
file_uploads: On (Vrai)
post_max_size: 8M
upload_max_filesize: 40M
session_save_path: /tmp (1777)
session_use_cookies: On (Vrai)
xml_function: On (Vrai)
xmlreader_class: On (Vrai)


Server Information:

Server Api: cgi-fcgi
Server Db Type: MySQL (mysql)
Server Db Version: 5.0.95
Server Db Grants: Trouvé un privilège "GRANT ALL" qui semble être adapté
alex84xela
New Member
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:31 pm

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by alex84xela »

I give you a little precision since I tested some stuff.
So first :
CMSMS writes files in chmod xxx
I have to change chmod xxx to 777 and it works.

Every time I edit a page or something, this happens, so I have to chmod 777 the tmp folder (and its content) again.

I saw some options where one can edit the chmod cmsms writes to, default was set to 777 and I tried 744, nothing changed.
JohnnyB
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 729
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 5:05 pm
Location: OH, USA

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by JohnnyB »

It may be the server settings. Depending upon how PHP is served (as an Apache module, or via a CGI process) will determine how a file and directory is considered writable. I would talk to your host and ask if folder permissions are set correctly in Apache and PHP configurations.

There are some server information that looks odd:
max_execution_time: 50000
session_save_path: /tmp (1777)
the max execution time should be 60 or 90 at most unless there is some other need to resolve a problem.
The session save path should either 0777 or 0755

If PHP is served via Apache module, then writeable directories are 0777
If PHP is served via a CGI process, then writeable directories are 0755

There is an optional CMSMS config.php setting that may help in some cases.
$config['default_upload_permission'] = '644';

Next, try adding the following into your config.php file to see if there are any helpful error reports:

$config['debug'] = true;
$config['debug_to_log'] = '1';

The logged reports will be in the tmp/cache directory.

*Your host may need to fix the chmod rules set in Apache and php for new directories to fix the issue you have....
"The art of life lies in a constant readjustment to our surroundings." -Okakura Kakuzo

--
LinkedIn profile
--
I only speak/write in English so I may not translate well on International posts.
--
alex84xela
New Member
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:31 pm

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by alex84xela »

Thanks a lot for the quick reply !!!

So I tried
$config['default_upload_permission'] = '644';
first, nothing works.

$config['debug'] = true;
$config['debug_to_log'] = '1';
didn't give much more informations

my host, 1&1 is using CGI.
Where can I check the session save path value ?

I did a phpinfo but it didn't state the (077x) value, it only showed the cache folder (/tmp).
alex84xela
New Member
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:31 pm

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by alex84xela »

Another info : everything CMSMS writes is in chmod "xxx".
I just got a little bug by a user (because the website is still up and used a lot) who used a form (i've made up a formbuilder/formbrowser stuff) on the site in which he uploaded a picture.
The entry worked, was shown on the formbrowser page, but the pic could not be seen... Problem was the file had chmod set to value "xxx". I changed to 744 through FTP and it worked.
JohnnyB
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
Posts: 729
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 5:05 pm
Location: OH, USA

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by JohnnyB »

hmmm, check the 'Mask' settings in the Global Options. maybe it needs to be something other than 022.
alex84xela
New Member
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:31 pm

Re: errors after upgrading to 1.10.3

Post by alex84xela »

Changed the umask to another value then back to 022 and now it works ! Thanks a lot !!!
Locked

Return to “[locked] Installation, Setup and Upgrade”