Basic Install Help

Help with getting the CMS CORE package up and running. This does not include 3rd party modules, PHP scripts, anything downloaded via module manager or from any external source.
stew

Basic Install Help

Post by stew »

Hi, I've just found CMS Made Simple and want to try this out, first locally and later online. I like results posted in this forum. I am computer literate but never tried installing a CMS.

Is there a basic install document? I quickly looked through the download and did not see any documentation but I could have missed it.

Most CMS systems require PHP, MySQL and the content management system. Is that true here? If so, are PHP and MySQL just set for default values or do they need to be groomed before installing the CMS?

As you can see I'm a newbie to CMS. Any help is appreciated. Thanks...
Jope

Basic Install Help

Post by Jope »

Hello!

CMS Made Simple is very "Simple" to install. Upload all the files in the folder to your website. CHMOD 777 the folders listed in the install file.

Run install.php and go through the steps, when its done delete install.php, upgrade.php, and upgrades folder.

I will be on IRC if you need anymore help.

Enjoy using Cms Made Simple! :D
Ted
Power Poster
Power Poster

Basic Install Help

Post by Ted »

CMS Made Simple is designed to work pretty much out of the box on any standard PHP and MySQL install. No special grooming is required. We have many installs who use "shared" environments where they only get one DB per account and have never had any problems.

Let us know if you need any more specifics about the installation process, though we hope it's as straightforward as it can be.

wishy
stew

Should this setup work?

Post by stew »

First thanks for your replies. Please see if this makes sense?