Help: Massive problems getting up and running

Help with getting the CMS CORE package up and running. This does not include 3rd party modules, PHP scripts, anything downloaded via module manager or from any external source.
outasight

Help: Massive problems getting up and running

Post by outasight »

I'm a newbie to CMSMS (and to web development in general)
Here's what I'm trying to do:
    I want to setup web pages such that members can add content themselves through a wysywig editor like tinyMCE or FCKeditor (ie without going through the Admin panel).  Ideally this should be available only to logged-in users but I can't see how to get FrontEndUsers working and I can't see how to integrate tinyMCE into a page when I create it.  Can anyone explain this to me?

I've been struggling with this for days.  I can see how to create web pages but I don't see at all how to get FrontEndUsers working and I don't see how to integrate tinyMCE into a page.

Any help would be appreciated.
Last edited by outasight on Sun May 18, 2008 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
vangabond

Re: Help: Massive problems getting up and running

Post by vangabond »

I am fairly new to CMSMS as well, but I think that tinyMCE should be installed as a default module. When I create a new page, the tinyMCE editor automatically loads -- and it has from the getgo. 

Anyway, try going to My Preferences (top menu) and then select User Preferences. The first options is 'Select WISYWIG to Use'. Make sure that tinyMCE is selected. I think that if this is selected, the tinyMCE editor should automatically run.
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru

Post by calguy1000 »

CMS Made simple is not a portal package.  It doesn't support (at the moment) inline editing, and doesn't support users editing only 'their own section of the site'.