• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Spain CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 11:57 am 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:50 am
Posts: 238
Location: Finland
Hi,

if I try to access Module Manager, I get this error message:

Code:
A problem occurred communicating with the module server

Nothing in the Admin Log.

Server Error Log has one item:
Code:
[Sat Sep 30 10:53:38 2017] [error] [client 66.249.70.31] PHP Fatal error:  require_once(): Failed opening required '/biz/1/hippafi/html/modules/Cataloger/../../include.php' (include_path='.:/system/php56/lib/php') in /biz/1/hippafi/html/modules/Cataloger/Cataloger.Image.php on line 2

But the time in the error log is not the time I tried to access to the Module Manager.






----------------------------------------------

Cms Version: 2.2.2

Installed Modules:

AdminSearch: 1.0.4
CGExtensions: 1.55.6
CGSharedContent: 1.0.1
CGSmartImage: 1.21.9
CMSContentManager: 1.1.5
CMSMailer: 6.2.14
CmsJobManager: 0.1
DesignManager: 1.1.3
FileManager: 1.6.3
FilePicker: 1.0
Gallery: 2.3.1
MenuManager: 1.50.3
MicroTiny: 2.2
ModuleManager: 2.1.1
Navigator: 1.0.7
News: 2.51.2
Search: 1.51.2
Showtime2: 3.5.4
ThemeManager: 1.1.8


Config Information:

php_memory_limit:
max_upload_size: 64000000
url_rewriting: mod_rewrite
page_extension:
query_var: page
auto_alias_content: true
locale:
set_names: true
timezone: Europe/Helsinki
permissive_smarty: false


Php Information:

phpversion: 5.6.29
md5_function: On (True)
json_function: On (True)
gd_version: 2
tempnam_function: On (True)
magic_quotes_runtime: Off (False)
E_ALL: 6133
E_STRICT: 0
E_DEPRECATED: 0
test_file_timedifference: No time difference found
test_db_timedifference: No time difference found
create_dir_and_file: 1
memory_limit: 128M
max_execution_time: 120
register_globals: Off (False)
output_buffering: 4096
disable_functions:
open_basedir:
test_remote_url: Success
file_uploads: On (True)
post_max_size: 80M
upload_max_filesize: 64M
session_save_path: /biz/sessions (1777)
session_use_cookies: On (True)
xml_function: On (True)
xmlreader_class: On (True)
check_ini_set: On (True)
curl: On


Performance Information:

allow_browser_cache: Off (False)
browser_cache_expiry: 60
php_opcache: Off (False)
smarty_cache: Off (False)
smarty_compilecheck: Off (False)
auto_clear_cache_age: Off (False)

Server Information:

Server Software: Apache
Server Api: cgi-fcgi
Server Os: Linux 2.6.32-673.26.1.lve1.4.15.el6.x86_64 On x86_64
Server Db Type: MySQL (mysqli)
Server Db Version: 5.6.37
Server Db Grants: Found a "GRANT ALL" statement that appears to be suitable


Permission Information:

tmp: /biz/1/kettufi/html/tmp (0755)
tmp_cache: /biz/1/kettufi/html/tmp/cache (0755)
templates_c: /biz/1/kettufi/html/tmp/templates_c (0755)
modules: /biz/1/kettufi/html/modules (0755)
uploads: /biz/1/kettufi/html/uploads (0755)
File Creation Mask (umask): /biz/1/kettufi/html/tmp/cache (0755)
config_file: 0444

----------------------------------------------


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:15 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:50 am
Posts: 238
Location: Finland
Here are the logs of the two other sites on the same server (at least the host provider). Kettuki doesn't have the Cataloger, but I can't access Module Manager. And with Vekka I can access Module Manager.


Attachments:
vekka.txt [2.3 KiB]
Downloaded 35 times
kettuki.txt [2.58 KiB]
Downloaded 32 times
Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:52 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Posts: 7936
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada
This is probably a server configuration issue.
Your environment running PHP 5.4 works fine. Your environment running PHP 5.6 does not.

_________________
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:06 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:50 am
Posts: 238
Location: Finland
calguy1000 wrote:
This is probably a server configuration issue.
Your environment running PHP 5.4 works fine. Your environment running PHP 5.6 does not.


Thanks CG,

I thought that also but here is another log from the site that won't allow to get to the Module Manager and has PHP 5.4 running.


Attachments:
visavuori.txt [2.3 KiB]
Downloaded 36 times
Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:44 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Posts: 7936
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada
Quote:
Here are the logs of the two other sites on the same server (at least the host provider).


Just because they are on the same hosting provider does not mean that the sites exist with the same server, with the same PHP configuration EVEN IF it's the same PHP version.

ModuleManager tries to connect to the ModuleRepository module using curl or fsockopen if curl is not available. If it cannot get a 200 response within 3 seconds then you will see that error and ModuleManager will not allow interaction with the ModuleRepostiory.

I think you need to do some more comparing of physical environments and PHP environments.

_________________
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:59 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:50 am
Posts: 238
Location: Finland
Thanks,

I compared the logs but couldn't find anything. Though I'm not pro with this technical stuff. And even if I were, I'm afraid that I can't adjust the server settings. I can change the PHP version but that's about it.

Could you help me and give a more specific clue what to check?

If this helps, this problem started after upgrading to 2.2.1.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 3:18 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Posts: 7936
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada
I meant comparing PHPinfo, IP addresses etc.

If phpinfo does not give a clue, then you will need to dig in to the code and/or write test software to illustrate the problem and then report it to your host. It could still be a networking or firewall issue.

At this point, there is no evidence (because it works on some installs, but not others) that it is a CMSMS issue.

_________________
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:16 am 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:50 am
Posts: 238
Location: Finland
I installed CMSMS 2.1.6 and the module manager works perfectly. So I think it's ok to say that something has changed between 2.1.6. and the 2.2.1. I'm not sure what was the version when I first had this problem, but as I said before the module manager has worked in previous versions.

I don't have an idea what kind of program you ask me to do, cause' I'm web developer not server side/back-end programmer. Us and I think most of us use hosted service, so there isn't so much that we can do in the server side. So, please could you take a look at this.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:44 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Posts: 7936
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada
Quote:
So, please could you take a look at this.


Sorry, but there is nothing more I can do:
a: I cannot reproduce the problem. I cannot 'look into' something that I cannot see.
b: You appear to be the only one having this problem. Nobody has reported this issue on an ongoing basis. There have been temporary problems with the module server in the past (months ago), but they were temporary, and they are not happening now.
c: By your own reports you have different installations where it works and doesn't. so it appears to be an issue with your host's configuration somewhere.
d: I have already looked at the source code to the extent that I can, to review where the error messages come from... and there is nothing obvious to correct staring out at me.

I still think that this is an issue with your hosts' configuration, and it will take some debugging and a bit of custom programming to create a small sample script that you can then demonstrate to your host. I have the skills to do that debugging, but I cannot do it for free, and would need complete access to the non working installation.

_________________
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:12 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:50 am
Posts: 238
Location: Finland
C) I have on a same server 2.2.3.1 installation where Module Manager doesn't work AND 2.1.6 where Module Manager works.

Am I somehow able to get some error logs from the module manager? All the server logs are clear and the error message from the module manager is what it is.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:59 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Posts: 7936
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada
Quote:
Am I somehow able to get some error logs from the module manager?


The Module manager does not output any special error logs. Anything it outputs is either output to the php error log, the cmsms admin log, or to the console. The error message you see is fairly obvious. Your installation could not talk to the module server.

_________________
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:31 am 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:50 am
Posts: 238
Location: Finland
Thanks to my service provider, module manager works now. The reason was, that the curl needed to be a newer version. So maybe you could adjust installation compatibility check that it ensures that the system has valid version of the curl (Clearly the latest versions of Module Manager needs that) and/or Module Manager would give more precise error message.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: A problem occurred communicating with the module server
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:08 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:02 am
Posts: 35
Same story for me. I think Curl version test on install would really be a great improvement.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
HostPapa CMS Made Simple hosting