editor functionality, RTF - text colors, size, fonts

The place to talk about things that are related to CMS Made simple, but don't fit anywhere else.
StevenAvery

editor functionality, RTF - text colors, size, fonts

Post by StevenAvery »

Hi,

Newbie here.

CMS Made Simple 1.11.9. PHP: 5.4.7, MySQL : 5.5.27 Apache/2.4.3 (Win32) Xampp 1.8 Windows XP SP 3

First question is simply about the editor. One video I saw shows a full-featured editor (e.g. color, font size, many functions) with I gather might be TinyMCE.

When I first go in, I see, apparently, MicroTiny. So no colors and only rudimentary functions? Bold, italics and a bit more.

Am I understanding this properly? Am I supposed to either install TinyMCE as a module or fall into HTML tags?

My goal is simply to have "Eudora style" editing . It would be nice to have RTF paste maintained.

Anyway, if you can help me get up to speed on editing basics it would be appreciated. My needs are not super-sophisticated, a lot of it is simply nicely formatted text and an occasional picture, I was working on very practical informational pages on Bible topics. My goal is to use CMS Made Simple to give more sophistication and structure than Blogger or a simple WordPress usage, without losing too much of simple editing function, without falling into code much (I am a programmer in other realms, small business mini-computer, so I don't insist on being code-free).

And I may totally misunderstand the basics here. I did poke around in google and documentation.

And help appreciated in getting moving.

Thanks.

Steven Avery
Bayside, NY
staartmees
Power Poster
Power Poster

Re: editor functionality, RTF - text colors, size, fonts

Post by staartmees »

Styling - color, font type, ... - is defined in the stylesheet, not in the text.
you cannot use RTF in a webpage.
Microtiny does the job, TinyMCE has a few extras.
paulbaker
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member

Post by paulbaker »