idea: breadcrumbs should be nested lists

Discuss, ask and suggest about Usability and Accessability with CMS Made Simple
alinome.net
Forum Members
Forum Members

idea: breadcrumbs should be nested lists

Post by alinome.net »

I think it's an accesibility must: breadcrumbs must be nested lists, made horizontal and inline with CSS.
That's the same logic CSS menus have.

I am a CMSMS beginner, and I have chosen it for a project because CMSMS cares a lot about accesibility. It was a surprise,
when I realized that breadcrumbs are not nested lists but simple links.

You can see an example in this deep level page of a site of mine (not by CMSMS, though, but a HTML preprocessor programmed by me in Forth), telling your browser to turn off CSS:

alinome.net/bici/con_bici01_p5.es.html

I'm investigating this issue for another site of mine (by CMSMS, this one):

alinome.net/fincasantmiquel

I will contact the author of the breadcrumb function with this suggestion.

Marcos
Marcos Cruz
tsw
Power Poster
Power Poster

Re: idea: breadcrumbs should be nested lists

Post by tsw »

you are right.

after all, it is a list of links..

tho I'm not sure if a deep list is a good choice. maybe have list instead...
Manarth

Post by Manarth »

The important thing to keep in mind is the target audience for accessibility features, and imagine their interaction.

Breadcrumbs represent a path to the current page, and therefore have similarities to a page menu, but they do have a different purpose, so shouldn't necessarily be constrained by the same logic.

Whilst a breadcrumb trail could be represented by a hierarchical menu, there would be only one element per menu item.  As it's also a linear descriptor, it is syntactically and semantically correct to use a paragraph ("I started on this page, progressed through pages w, x,  y, and finished on page z").