Page 1 of 1

Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:04 pm
by daniel
I was looking for the option to set a website title and only found it on the template code! Why???? :(
Havent you discussed about implementing a database field to configure it?  ::)

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:13 pm
by cyberman
You must only insert {title} to the template head.

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 9:54 am
by westis
what exactly your suggestion/need, where else would you want your sitename to appear?


In the default templates the {title} tag is not included (but will be in later versions). So he only got the same title on all pages. Cyberman showed him the solution. ;)

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:24 pm
by daniel
Yes I agree with you, but is this CMS really that easy for beginners? I think it is, but web title issue is a big drawback. Why would it be needed for the user to know a little programming? I dont like that, and I think it would be a lot better to have a form to configure the website title in a visible section.
Daniel.

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 8:02 am
by roman
For beginning You will need basic 3 tags: {title}{bulletmenu}{content} First You know yet, secont is one from 4-5 menu systems, last one is content of your page. Replace in design of your page relevant parts and you will see :). Anyway, You will need some HTML, CSS experiences.

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:35 am
by roman
Patricia wrote:
roman, an important one also in template is {stylesheet}, if not present, none of your stylesheets will be called. This tag is present in sample templates.

Cheers
yees, thanks patricia

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 11:34 pm
by daniel
cyberman wrote:You must only insert {title} to the template head.


Ok thanks all for posting, but I need the location of the site title in the database, where is it? Because I can change the template with {title} but from where is this value taken in the database, what table-field?
Thanks.

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:26 am
by kermit
daniel wrote:
cyberman wrote:You must only insert {title} to the template head.


Ok thanks all for posting, but I need the location of the site title in the database, where is it? Because I can change the template with {title} but from where is this value taken in the database, what table-field?
Thanks.


;D no one else caught what you are really after. WEB SITE title (ie. the site's name, such as "joe's home page"), not page title.  afaik, there is not any place to configure a web site title... (yet?!).

however, you can use a html_blob (global content block) for that. and then refer to it in the template as something like {html_blob name="site title"} just as the footer is incorporated into the default templates now.

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 5:05 am
by calguy1000
The {title} field is generated from the page title,  as you set it when creating or editing a page.

daniel wrote:
cyberman wrote:You must only insert {title} to the template head.



Ok thanks all for posting, but I need the location of the site title in the database, where is it? Because I can change the template with {title} but from where is this value taken in the database, what table-field?
Thanks.

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:16 am
by petrangr
You can use {description}

Re: Is it difficult to set a title in CMS Made Simple?

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:08 am
by Dr.CSS
To show the Site name and page Title in Title bar of browser...

{<span style="color: blue">title</span>} @ {<span style="color: red">sitename</span>} gives you Page Title @ Site Name...

Using variations of this should give you what you need...

To change Site Name go to Site Admin > Global Settings, Site Name: "change here" ...