• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Spain CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Get rid of default page in column view in the page screen
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:49 am 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 2:28 am
Posts: 1015
Location: London
Having the default column in the page screen with the ability to change it can be dangerous. I have had clients who have changed this accidentally before and then wondered where their home page has gone. This should be set from a drop down menu in the Site Admin > Global Settings


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Get rid of default page in column view in the page scree
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:45 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1425
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Yes I must agree with this. It is strange that a fair proportion of real estate is taken up with this column that, in my experience, is very seldom used. ???


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Get rid of default page in column view in the page scree
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:29 am 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:16 am
Posts: 265
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I agree. The default home page generally won't change very often, if at all.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Get rid of default page in column view in the page scree
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:51 pm 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:16 am
Posts: 265
Location: Brisbane, Australia
soulgeek \soulgeek:
I have had this issue. What i have done is set up a locked home page for the client, which only i can edit. So we could ensure nothing goes wrong even if the client mess up here and there.

What if they need to edit the home page?


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Get rid of default page in column view in the page scree
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:58 pm 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:39 pm
Posts: 1369
I'm not sure if he's referring to page editing or 'default page' column.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Get rid of default page in column view in the page scree
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:45 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Posts: 12669
Location: Arizona
Educating a client is part of a developers responsibility, they mess up enuf and they do learn ;) ...

_________________
Check ver. CMSMS, PHP, server OS, in System Information page.
Default content http://multiintech.com/defaultcontent/
People are Wonderful
Business is Great
Life is Terrific
Ever wonder what happened to the Album module? Well it is alive and well.
http://album.multiintech.com/
$1


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Get rid of default page in column view in the page scree
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:37 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1425
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Dr.CSS \Dr.CSS:
Educating a client is part of a developers responsibility

I agree Dr. CSS! However, this option is shown on Content -> Pages - a page that is probably one of the most used. And I can imagine some users clicking one of the crosses under the Default heading by accident....and suddenly their site has "broken". From the other comments here, it sounds like this is exactly what happened.

Regardless of whether you think the client should be techie enough not to click by accident, this feature takes up space on this important page which could be better used for something else, or to space out other elements better.

I believe this rarely-used default page feature should be hidden away somewhere else where you are unlikely to change it accidently. (e.g. Site Admin -> Global Settings?)


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Get rid of default page in column view in the page scree
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:15 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:47 pm
Posts: 1762
Not to say I disagree with this feature request, but I rarely (if ever) allow any of my clients access to the pages tab. The contents are usually delivered trough the news module or the blog module which are the only back-office features they have access to. Well maybe along with albums, videos, newsletters, statistics... but most of the sensitive parts of the site are off-limits to them, fortunately without any complaints so far. ;)

PS: BTW it would probably be a simple feature just to add a permission to change the default page... ???

_________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary... and those who don't."
* by the way: English is NOT my native language (sorry for any mistakes...).


Code of Conduit | CMSMS Docs
Help Support CMSMS
My developer Page on the Forge | Yet another blog about CMSMS

GeekMoot 2015 in Ghent, Belgium: I was there!
GeekMoot 2016 in Leicester, UK: I was there!



Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Get rid of default page in column view in the page scree
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:49 pm 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster

Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:02 pm
Posts: 1900
paulbaker \paulbaker:
Dr.CSS \Dr.CSS:
Educating a client is part of a developers responsibility

I agree Dr. CSS! However, this option is shown on Content -> Pages - a page that is probably one of the most used. And I can imagine some users clicking one of the crosses under the Default heading by accident....and suddenly their site has "broken". From the other comments here, it sounds like this is exactly what happened.

Regardless of whether you think the client should be techie enough not to click by accident, this feature takes up space on this important page which could be better used for something else, or to space out other elements better.

I believe this rarely-used default page feature should be hidden away somewhere else where you are unlikely to change it accidently. (e.g. Site Admin -> Global Settings?)


+1


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
A2 Hosting