Sticky Menu or Floating Header

For discussion and questions related to CMS Specific templates and stylesheets (CSS), and themes. or layout issues. This is not a place for generic "I don't know CSS issues"
helpme2understand

Sticky Menu or Floating Header

Post by helpme2understand »

I am a newbie to CMSMS and looking for a simple way to maintain a personal site. I have used some complex cms's in the past but this cms looks like it may be a good fit. I am not a coder however I have some knowledge of HTML and PHP. Could someone tell me before I invest a lot of time and learning CMSMS, is it possible to create a template that uses a basic page with a sticky or floating head or top menu? Thanks in advance.
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member

Re: Sticky Menu or Floating Header

Post by DIGI3 »

You can do whatever you like - CMSMS doesn't generate the html/css/js for you, although there are some sample templates included.

I would suggest getting to know an html framework - Bootstrap and Foundation are popular choices. I use Foundation's sticky header for most of my CMSMS-built sites.

If you look at the themes offered by our sponsors (see logos on the cmsmadesimple.org homepage), some of them have sticky headers and there are one or two you can download for free to either use completely, or as a reference to creating your own.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
paulbaker
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member

Post by paulbaker »

helpme2understand wrote: Wed Feb 03, 2021 11:29 pm is it possible to create a template that uses a basic page with a sticky or floating head or top menu?
Welcome. As DIGI3 has said, anything you can do in HTML you can do in CMSMS. So the answer to your question is yes.

It's all done with templates and replacing static text in your HTML template with tags like

Code: Select all

<h1>{title}</h1>
for the title of your page.

Learn about templates and a lot more here:
https://docs.cmsmadesimple.org/layout/d ... n-template