Change website font to google Michroma...

For discussion and questions related to CMS Specific templates and stylesheets (CSS), and themes. or layout issues. This is not a place for generic "I don't know CSS issues"
Post Reply
User avatar
map_1961
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: Ruhrstadt

Change website font to google Michroma...

Post by map_1961 »

Hi all.

I want to change the font of a website to Michroma (https://fonts.google.com/specimen/Michroma)
Therfore i placed into the template:

Code: Select all

 ...
<link href="https://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Michroma" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
...
and into the stylesheet:

Code: Select all

...
body {
  width: 100%;
  height: 100%;
/*  font-family: Merriweather,'Helvetica Neue',Arial,sans-serif; */
    font-family: "Michroma", sans-serif;
...
Nothing changes in the font design in the front end.

Thx 4 a tip how 2.

MAP
Edwin_IandD
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 2:27 pm

Re: Change website font to google Michroma...

Post by Edwin_IandD »

Not sure why this is happening, it's been a while since I used Google Fonts.

You can try single quotation marks (font-family: 'Michroma', sans-serif;)

Also make sure that the font isn't changed for any elements further down the CSS. It's pointless declaring a font-family for the 'body' when you go changing this in other tage like 'p' 'a' etc.

Hope you get it sorted!
Ed
scooper
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 242
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:36 pm
Location: Marlow, UK

Re: Change website font to google Michroma...

Post by scooper »

Are you able to post a link to the site so we can take a look to see what's happening?
User avatar
map_1961
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: Ruhrstadt

Re: Change website font to google Michroma...

Post by map_1961 »

scooper wrote:Are you able to post a link to the site so we can take a look to see what's happening?
Thankx for answering. There is the site:
http://dev.papageienpark-bochum.de

I tried any kind of ' and " - no change in used font at all.

Thx for checking for reason.

Yours

MAP
scooper
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 242
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:36 pm
Location: Marlow, UK

Re: Change website font to google Michroma...

Post by scooper »

In the HEAD of your page template you have the links to the Google font wrapped in some NOSCRIPT tags. Because most browsers have Javascript enabled then they won't bother with the tags in there.

If you disable Javascript in you browser then the font appears :-)

You'll just need to check your template and make sure the Google font links are outside your noscript tags.

Hope that helps.

s.
User avatar
map_1961
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: Ruhrstadt

Re: Change website font to google Michroma...

Post by map_1961 »

scooper wrote:In the HEAD of your page template you have the links to the Google font wrapped in some NOSCRIPT tags. Because most browsers have Javascript enabled then they won't bother with the tags in there.

If you disable Javascript in you browser then the font appears :-)

You'll just need to check your template and make sure the Google font links are outside your noscript tags.

Hope that helps.

s.
Thank you - yes - now it works fine!!

MAP
User avatar
map_1961
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: Ruhrstadt

[solved] Re: Change website font to google Michroma...

Post by map_1961 »

I just want to state that this forum is very active and more than helpful in many many cases. Lots of thanks to all te capable people in here...

MAP
Post Reply

Return to “Layout and Design (CSS & HTML)”