Page 1 of 1

[Solved]What is the best way (for SEO) to use title tag

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 4:05 am
by jasnick
Have been waiting for a new site to appear in search engines and it has just shown up in the following form:

domain.org.au - Home
http://www.domain.org.au/

What I need it to show is:

Domain Name - Home
http://www.domain.org.au

first line without the .org.au and with the individual words with capital letters

In the template I am using:

<h1><title>{sitename} - {title}</title></h1>

What is the correct way to use the tags to achieve what I want?

Thanks

Re: What is the best way (for SEO) to use title tag

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 6:20 am
by hasanen
Why don't you just change the sitename? Found in Site Admin -> Global Settings.

I think h1-tags are not permitted in head. I'm usually using this:

Code: Select all

<title>{title} | {sitename}</title>

Re: What is the best way (for SEO) to use title tag

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 6:49 am
by jasnick
Thanks hasanen - I'll try it that way

Reason I added the <h1> is that it is recommended in the book CMS Made Simple by Sofia Hauschildt. It says re SEO:" The best way is to place the title of every page within an <h1> tag in your main template."

Re: What is the best way (for SEO) to use title tag

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 7:05 am
by hasanen
That's true, but it means that in template you put it between body-tags. It should be something like this:

Code: Select all

<__html>
	<head>
		<title> {title} | {sitename}</title>
	</head>
	</__body>
		<h1>{title}</h1>
		{content}
	<__body>
</__html>

Re: What is the best way (for SEO) to use title tag

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 7:47 am
by jasnick
Thanks hasanen - I see. Not relating to meta data then.

Re: What is the best way (for SEO) to use title tag

Posted: Thu May 29, 2014 4:09 am
by jasnick
I've discovered where I was going wrong - not using a "friendly" name for the website, I was using the domain name instead.