gap between menu and content area

For discussion and questions related to CMS Specific templates and stylesheets (CSS), and themes. or layout issues. This is not a place for generic "I don't know CSS issues"
Locked
sgantha

gap between menu and content area

Post by sgantha »

Hi,

just installed cmsms @ www.ringtonei.org

But if you see there is a huge gap between menu and the content.. I just reduced width of menu and everything is still remains default.. Not sure where to look into the bring this gap down.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks
User avatar
Dr.CSS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Location: Arizona

Re: gap between menu and content area

Post by Dr.CSS »

you have 2 CSS styles calling your
heres 1
    /* CONTENT */
        div#content {
              height: 100%;
              left: auto;
             
        }
       
        /* MAIN */
            div#main {
                width: 600px;
                padding-left: 0px;
                padding-right: 0px;
             

            }
        /* END MAIN */

next 1

/* A CSS Framework by Mike Stenhouse of Content with Style, adapted to CMSMS by Daniel Westergren */


/* NAV BAR ON THE LEFT AND ONE COLUMN OF CONTENT */
    div#content {
        position: relative;
        width: 100%;
        margin: 1.5em auto 2em auto;
        padding: 0;
        text-align: left;
    }
    div#main {
        float: right;
        width: 70%;
        margin-right: 2%;
        display: inline;
    }
    div#menu_vert {
        float: left;
        width: 25%;
        display: inline;
        margin-left: 0;
    }
    div#content2 {
        display: none;
    }
    div#menu_horiz {
        display: none;
    }
/* END CONTENT */

when you take the m out it moves left to 70% width.

HTH    :)  mark
sgantha

Re: gap between menu and content area

Post by sgantha »

Cool, it moved little bit to left.. but there is little gap still between menu and content...  ???
User avatar
Dr.CSS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Location: Arizona

Re: gap between menu and content area

Post by Dr.CSS »

I use Firefox with the Web Developer extention and it shows a line around your menu on the right if you get to close to it your flyouts get cramped,,,you can keep increasing the % width of      div#main {
        float: right;
      width: 70%;
        margin-right: 2%;
        display: inline;
    }
until you like it,, but I checked and 73% is the most you can go before it gets pushed down,, sorry  :(
 
  mark
sgantha

Re: gap between menu and content area

Post by sgantha »

Thanks Mark, you gave me an idea where the problem lies. I removed the existing menu style and the gap is now reduced. It looks fine in IE but the firefox is showing an horizontal scroll bar.. why is that?
User avatar
Dr.CSS
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12709
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Location: Arizona

Re: gap between menu and content area

Post by Dr.CSS »

Looked at the CSS it says

/* A CSS Framework by Mike Stenhouse of Content with Style, adapted to CMSMS by Daniel Westergren */

/* SITE SPECIFIC LAYOUT */
    body {
        margin: 0;
        padding: 0;
        text-align: center;
    }
    div#page {
          width: 550px;
          margin: auto;
          padding: 0px;
          text-alight: left;
          height: 100%;
}
    div#pagewrapper {
        margin: 0 auto;
      max-width: 100em;
        min-width: 100em;

        padding: 0;
        text-align: left;
    }
    #container {
position: relative;
margin: 0;
    }
   
    /* HEADER */

this will size it to 100% of whatever the browser window is,, you can set it to 95% or less to get white space around the content,,

    div#pagewrapper {
        margin: 0 auto;
      width: 100%;
        padding: 0;
        text-align: left;
 
HTH  :)  mark
sgantha

Re: gap between menu and content area

Post by sgantha »

Thanks so much Mark !! Your help is appreciated ..
Locked

Return to “Layout and Design (CSS & HTML)”