Version 1.9.3 and a Dreamhost site restore

General project discussion. NOT for help questions.
pelicanpaul

Version 1.9.3 and a Dreamhost site restore

Post by pelicanpaul »

I am a developer with little experience with CMS Made Simple. A legacy client had their CMS Made Simple site deleted by accident and then restored but certain files were missing - Dreamhost. The site is viewable but apparently the CMS system needs certain tmp, cache, etc files which no longer exist. "Forgot My Password" function is not working.

Any pointers on how to solve this problem greatly appreciated. I did see this repo http://svn.cmsmadesimple.org/svn/cmsmad ... hes/1.9.x/
DIGI3
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member

Re: Version 1.9.3 and a Dreamhost site restore

Post by DIGI3 »

The tmp/cache files are generated automatically from the database, but the folder structure does need to be there first.

You can run the installer for the same version, making sure to uncheck "install content from database" or something similar (it's been a few years, I can't remember the exact phrase it uses).

It may be a bit tricky for a cmsms novice, but as long as the database and /uploads folder are safe then there's going to be a road to recovery - you may just need to bring in someone to help diagnose more than can be covered in a forum post.
Not getting the answer you need? CMSMS support options
velden
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member

Post by velden »

For your information. In the web root there should be a tmp folder with the three subfolders as shown below.
All 4 folders should have RW permissions for the web server process.

Code: Select all

\tmp
\tmp\cache
\tmp\configs
\tmp\templates_c
Like DIGI3 already mentioned. CMSMS will put cache files automatically as needed.
In the backend of CMS Made Simple (the admin paneL) you will find a 'clear cache' button somewhere under 'System Maintenance' (long time ago).