• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Spain CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Move a website to new host without ftp or SQL access?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:38 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 7:43 pm
Posts: 46
Dr.CSS \Dr.CSS:
Your link gives a 403 Forbidden...

Which stylesheet call are you using, the old {stylesheet} call uses the url(****) that you show, the new {cms_stylesheet} uses url([[root_url]]/***) ...


Can you explain further? I'm not sure what you mean. The website isn't working right now and I'm not sure what to do.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Move a website to new host without ftp or SQL access?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 5:45 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Posts: 12672
Location: Arizona
That will only work if you use the {stylesheet} call in the page template and the images are in the /uploads/template folder...

If you use the new {cms_sylesheet} tag in page template then you need to add [[root_url]]/ to all image calls...

_________________
Check ver. CMSMS, PHP, server OS, in System Information page.
Default content http://multiintech.com/defaultcontent/
People are Wonderful
Business is Great
Life is Terrific
Ever wonder what happened to the Album module? Well it is alive and well.
http://album.multiintech.com/
$1


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Move a website to new host without ftp or SQL access?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:10 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:15 am
Posts: 350
You should replace all instances of "url(uploads/" with "url([[root_url]]uploads/" in your stylesheet.

If the images don't work, right click on a broken image to verify if the path to the image is correct.
You can upload the images you downloaded from your old site to the new server if they are not present there...

Greetings,
Manuel


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Move a website to new host without ftp or SQL access?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:27 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:15 am
Posts: 350
About the domain name: You should try to contact dotster.com, this is the registrar of your original domain name and explain to them the situation.

If they cooperate, you can transfer the domain name to a domain registrar you control.
If you want to keep the domain name pointing to the old server for a while longer, make sure to fill out the old nameservers (see below) when requesting the domain transfer.
INET1.CMSINTER.NET
INET2.CMSINTER.NET

If they don't cooperate, the only way to get the domain back under your control is to wait for it to expire and try to grab it using a domain sniping service...

It will expire on 14-SEP-12 and will be released some time (days or weeks, i don't know exactly) after that as there is a grace period before they release your domain to the public.

More info here: http://www.mikeindustries.com/blog/archive/2005/03/how-to-snatch-an-expiring-domain

Greetings,
Manuel


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: Move a website to new host without ftp or SQL access?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:52 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:57 pm
Posts: 25
manuel \manuel:
About the domain name: You should try to contact dotster.com, this is the registrar of your original domain name and explain to them the situation.

If they cooperate, you can transfer the domain name to a domain registrar you control.
If you want to keep the domain name pointing to the old server for a while longer, make sure to fill out the old nameservers (see below) when requesting the domain transfer.
INET1.CMSINTER.NET
INET2.CMSINTER.NET

If they don't cooperate, the only way to get the domain back under your control is to wait for it to expire and try to grab it using a domain sniping service...

It will expire on 14-SEP-12 and will be released some time (days or weeks, i don't know exactly) after that as there is a grace period before they release your domain to the public.

More info here: http://www.mikeindustries.com/blog/archive/2005/03/how-to-snatch-an-expiring-domain

Greetings,
Manuel


Good suggestion:
That covers how to get the domain back.
I have done some investigation about where the server is placed. I did some whois lookup and looks like the domain points to a server [ip address] hosted and owned by http://www.liquidweb.com/

Try to contact them and see if they can confirm that your site is hosted by them. They might be able to help, but they might not give you access to the files, before you can prove your relationship with your dead friend.


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
A2 Hosting