[Solved] "Next-page-link" not working in NEWS when content-type = 'news'

A place to discuss the testing process in beta cycles or against SVN for the CMS Made Simple CORE package.
Locked
RonnyK
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 4963
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Raalte, the Netherlands

[Solved] "Next-page-link" not working in NEWS when content-type = 'news'

Post by RonnyK »

CMSMS 1.1
NEWS 2.3

When the parameter 'number' is used, pagination automatically is available in NEWS. When news is called on a page with content-type 'content' and {news number="1"} is used the link to the next page works, when content-type is 'news' and only '1' is put in the field for 'number' the next-page link doesn't work anymore.

Two links, the first is to a content-type page, the second to a news-type page.

http://demo.krijt.eu/index.php?page=news
http://demo.krijt.eu/index.php?page=newscontent

On the second link, more parameters are visible in the link shown in the statusbar.

Ronny
Last edited by RonnyK on Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RonnyK
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 4963
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Raalte, the Netherlands

Re: "Next-page-link" not working in NEWS when content-type = 'news'

Post by RonnyK »

Issue is not resolved after upgrading to CMSMS 1.1.1. Environment was a clean 1.1 install, issue was then noticed with the default pagination, the ">" link doesn't work, also ">>" doesn't work.
Problem still exists after upgrade to CMSMS 1.1.1

http://demo.krijt.eu/index.php?page=newscontent

Ronny
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: "Next-page-link" not working in NEWS when content-type = 'news'

Post by calguy1000 »

Your link has 'page=77' in there, I wonder where that came from.

I just tested this (again)... and have no difficulties.  I have 6 articles in my News module and I use them in a variety of different ways all on the same page.

Here's the page source out of my news test page, all of this is in one of my 6 or 7 content blocks:

Code: Select all

<h3>{literal}{news action='fesubmit'}{/literal}</h3>
{news action='fesubmit'}<br/>
<h3>{literal}{news number=1}{/literal}</h3>
{news number=1}<br/>
<h3>{literal}{news number=4 detailpage='details'}{/literal}</h3>
{news number=4 detailpage='details'}
<h3>{literal}{news number=11}{/literal}</h3>
{news number=11}


Here's the link to my News test page:

Code: Select all

http://svr.techcom.dyndns.org/cms_test/svn/index.php/priv-testing-pages/news-test
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
RonnyK
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 4963
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Raalte, the Netherlands

Re: "Next-page-link" not working in NEWS when content-type = 'news'

Post by RonnyK »

Calguy,

thanks for the reply, but I don't see the calling that I do in your test-set. I call the news using the content-type = "news" while adding a page. When I call {news} I have no problem at all.

http://demo.krijt.eu/uploads/images/News.png

is my set-up.

Ronny
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: "Next-page-link" not working in NEWS when content-type = 'news'

Post by calguy1000 »

Ugh, the news content type..... it's deprecated (I was going to remove it but didn't get to it).
I suggest you just use the {news} tag, on it's own page if necessary.
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
RonnyK
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 4963
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Raalte, the Netherlands

Re: "Next-page-link" not working in NEWS when content-type = 'news'

Post by RonnyK »

Calguy,

personally I always use the tag-calling for all. I was pointed to this point by a user on the Dutch board. They go for the easy way, clicking and selecting what you want (content-type) instead of the tag-calling. That's why I put it up here......

Ronny
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: "Next-page-link" not working in NEWS when content-type = 'news'

Post by calguy1000 »

News 2.5 will have the word 'Deprecated' in the pulldown.

News 3.0 (in CMS 2.0) will not have it at all.... there may be a news block type though
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
RonnyK
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 4963
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:29 pm
Location: Raalte, the Netherlands

Re: [Solved] "Next-page-link" not working in NEWS when content-type = 'news'

Post by RonnyK »

OK Calguy,

thanks for clarifying. When the content-type isn't selectable anymore, there won't be any questions around why it doesn't work.

Ronny
Locked

Return to “[locked] Quality Assurance”