• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 4:44 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 8:30 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Elkhorn, WI
It could just be my "noobness" with the whole mod_rewrite jazz and .13 release but i have an issue....

When i put the {metadata} tag in the template it will display meta data without any meta tags. Ok, that's fine i just put the meta data tags around the output.

But now that i'm using the pretty hierarchy URL's i need the "base" tags. So i say "{metadata showbase="true"}" We'll... then it displays the meta stuff in the meta tags, along with the base stuff in the meta tag.

So here is my template:
Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<__html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" >
<head>
<title>{title}</title>
{stylesheet}
<meta name="description" content="{metadata showbase="true"}">
</head>
</__body>

And here is the output:
Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<__html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" >
<head>
<title>Visitor's Guide - First Lutheran Church and School, Elkhorn, WI (WELS)</title>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="http://www.firstatthecross.com/stylesheet.php?templateid=5" />
<meta name="description" content="First Lutheran Church and School, Elkhorn, WI (WELS) - The continuing purpose of this congregation, as a gathering of Christians, is to serve all people in God’s world with the gospel of Jesus Christ on the basis of the Holy Scriptures. 415 South Devendorf Street Elkhorn, Wisconsin 53121, Church  (262)723-4191 / School (262)723-1091
<base href="http://www.firstatthecross.com/" />">
</head>


So yea... is this a bug or am i doing something wrong? Here is the config file:
Code:
#------------
#URL Settings
#------------

#Show mod_rewrite URLs in the menu?
$config['assume_mod_rewrite'] = true;

#Extension to use if you're using mod_rewrite for pretty URLs.
$config['page_extension'] = '/';

#If you don't use mod_rewrite, then would you like to use the built-in
#pretty url mechanism?  This will not work with IIS and the {metadata} tag
#should be in all of your templates before enabling.
$config['internal_pretty_urls'] = false;

#If you're using the internal pretty url mechanism or mod_rewrite, would you like to
#show urls in their hierarchy?  (ex. http://www.mysite.com/parent/parent/childpage)
$config['use_hierarchy'] = true;

#If using none of the above options, what should we be using for the query string
#variable?  (ex. http://www.mysite.com/index.php?page=somecontent)
$config['query_var'] = 'page';
Help?


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 4:59 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:58 pm
Posts: 3332
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa USA
Put the whole meta tag into the metadata box in the admin, not just the content of it.  Then just {metadata} (the showbase is true by default in almost all cases) in your template and you should be set.

_________________
http://about.me/tedkulp


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 5:00 pm 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 6:15 pm
Posts: 598
Location: Saskatchewan - Canada
Elijah your patch seems to cause another problem

Quote:
Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in /hsphere/local/home/gregbloo/gregbloor.com/lib/classes/class.admintheme.inc.php on line 848


The message I get when trying to open a template

Also kills editing global content blocks

_________________
Greg


Last edited by Greg on Fri May 19, 2006 5:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 5:32 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 8:30 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Elkhorn, WI
Ted wrote:
Put the whole meta tag into the metadata box in the admin, not just the content of it.  Then just {metadata} (the showbase is true by default in almost all cases) in your template and you should be set.
Yea... that totally makes sense now...  ;D


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 5:43 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 4:27 pm
Posts: 121
Location: Kent, UK
Greg - it doesnt seem to do that here and everything appears to be working properly (ignoring the ongoing CSS not loading issue I get) so its one of those pesky intermitant bugs  :(


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 7:30 pm 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 6:15 pm
Posts: 598
Location: Saskatchewan - Canada
Thanks Ted ... the patch of the patch restored all functionality.

_________________
Greg


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 3:53 am 
I understand that the patch has been committed to svn and that the patch of the patch is available for download in this topic, but is a new version with the patch be released on the downloads page for everyone who may not read this topic? Apologies in advance if this has already been done.


Top
   
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 5:58 am 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 5:02 pm
Posts: 815
Location: North West England
Nice one Ted :) Getting better by the minute.

A quick question however. What happened to the optimistic locking. On my current version (still the beta 0.13b4) only the second of any two changes are saved. The user is not warned that they are using stale data. I vaguely remember seeing this in a patch somewhere, but wonder where it has gone?

I guess a simple timestamp field and a warning about data being previously changed, followed by a copy of the users changes to the clipboard, or at least a warning for them to do so, and a refresh of the new data ready for them to paste their changes?

Just a thought, I may need to use CMS in the near future as a sort of departmental Wiki and this would be cool. I think this would need to be implimented for content and news?

Russ


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 12:49 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:58 pm
Posts: 3332
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa USA
@Ryno: I'll release a 0.13.1 in a few days after a few more bugs are squashed.

@Russ: If there was a patch for this submitted, it was never committed into the code.  Does sound like a neat idea, though.

_________________
http://about.me/tedkulp


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 7:51 am 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 5:02 pm
Posts: 815
Location: North West England
Ted: I think this is it....
http://dev.cmsmadesimple.org/tracker/in ... 6&atid=104

Russ


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 9:55 am 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 9:25 am
Posts: 1835
Location: The Netherlands
Isn't did something that can be managed by the dbms? (sorry, just know the theory and not how to solve in a practical way  ;D )


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 3:16 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:58 pm
Posts: 3332
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa USA
Wow, I didn't know that patch was there.  Whoops.  :)  I guess we can get it in the codebase, though I'm sure it'll be a little bit of arm twisting because it's probably out of date.

_________________
http://about.me/tedkulp


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 8:20 am 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:32 am
Posts: 72
Location: Russia
WOW! Finally menu bug of the "EllNav Horiz/Vert L 1col" template is solved :)


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 3:07 pm 
Quick question... is the 0.13 download link on the main page the most up-to-date version, with these patches included? 

Is that all I need or doI have to upgrade and then download/apply patches discussed on the forums?  Just so I know the steps I need to take to have the most stable version possible (upgrading from 0.12.2).

Thanks! :)


Top
   
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
 Post subject: Re: 0.13 Final Released!
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 5:45 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 5:32 am
Posts: 12659
Location: Arizona
What The  ??  :o
i just upgraded to latest stable and now after about 2 hours i'm missing pages and section haeders...
everything was fine then POOF!! gone... they still show up in the site map... well they did...
and my first page "Home" is now listed on Content » Pages as # 2...

_________________
Check ver. CMSMS, PHP, server OS, in System Information page.
Default content http://multiintech.com/defaultcontent/
People are Wonderful
Business is Great
Life is Terrific
Ever wonder what happened to the Album module? Well it is alive and well.
http://album.multiintech.com/
Image


Top
  Profile  
 
Share On:
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Hosting Nation - Managed CMSMS Hosting