bulletmenu and XHTML Errors

Help with getting the CMS CORE package up and running. This does not include 3rd party modules, PHP scripts, anything downloaded via module manager or from any external source.
Locked
piratos

bulletmenu and XHTML Errors

Post by piratos »

Bulletmenu makes XHTML - Erros - see what i mean:

Code: Select all

Original

<ul>
<li><a href="http://localhost/simple/index.php?page=cms-install-successful-">Home Page</a></li>
<ul>
<li><a href="http://localhost/simple/index.php?page=frequently-asked-questions">FAQ</a></li>
<li><a href="http://localhost/simple/index.php?page=contact-us">Contact Us</a></li>
<hr class="separator"/>
<li><a href="http://localhost/simple/index.php?page=svn-cvs-">SVN (cvs)</a></li>
</ul></ul><ul><li><a href='admin'>Admin</a></li></ul>

Separators causes XHTML Errors. incorrect nested ul and li causes XHTML Errors

This works correct but without separator

<ul>
<li><a href="http://localhost/simple/index.php?page=cms-install-successful-">Home Page</a><ul>
<li><a href="http://localhost/simple/index.php?page=frequently-asked-questions">FAQ</a></li>
<li><a href="http://localhost/simple/index.php?page=contact-us">Contact Us</a></li>
<li><a href="http://localhost/simple/index.php?page=svn-cvs-">SVN (cvs)</a></li>
</ul></li>
</ul><ul><li><a href='admin'>Admin</a></li></ul>
Ted
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 3329
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa USA

bulletmenu and XHTML Errors

Post by Ted »

Yeah, that's definatly a problem. Do you see a better way to do it so that it is xhtml compliant? I'm taking suggestions. :)
piratos

bulletmenu and XHTML Errors

Post by piratos »

That is my solution:

Code: Select all

Changes in file function.bulletmenu.php

1. Define bulletpic with link to a bulletimage whatever you want

define('bulletpic', 'plugins/images/pointer.gif');

2. Change the sourcecode as follow

Changes in function smarty_cms_function_bulletmenu

$blank = -1;

	foreach ($content as $one) {

		if ($one->page_type == "sectionheader")
		{
			if ($in_hr == 1)
			{	
				$in_hr = 0;
			}
			$menu .= "<div class=\"sectionheader\">".$one->menu_text."</div>\n";
			if ($count > 0 && $in_hr == 0)
			{
				$blank++;
				$in_hr = 1;
			}
		}
		else
		{
			if ($one->level < $last_level) {
				for ($i = $one->level; $i < $last_level; $i++)
				{	
					if ($blank>0)
					{
					$menu .= str_repeat(" ",$blank)."\n";
					$blank--;
					};
				};
			}
			if ($one->level > $last_level) {
				for ($i = $one->level; $i > $last_level; $i--)
				{
				 if ($blank>0) $menu .= str_repeat(" ",$blank)."\n";
				 $blank++;
				}
			}
			if ($one->page_type == "separator")
			{
				$menu .= "<hr class=\"separator\"/>\n";
			}
			else
			{
				$menu .= str_repeat(" ",$blank)."<img src=\"".bulletpic."\" alt=\"\" /><a href=\"".$one->url."\"> ".$one->menu_text."</a><br />\n";
			}
			$in_hr = 1;
			$last_level = $one->level;
		}
		$count++;
	}

	for ($i = 0; $i < $last_level; $i++) if ($blank>0) $blank--;

	if ($showadmin == 1) {
		$blank++;
		if ($blank>0)
		{
		$menu .= str_repeat(" ",$blank)."<img src=\"".bulletpic."\" alt=\"\" /> <a href='admin'>Admin</a>\n";
		$blank--;
		}
		else
		{$menu .= "<img src=\"".bulletpic."\" alt=\"\" /> <a href='admin'>Admin</a>\n";};
		
	}
Ted
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 3329
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa USA

bulletmenu and XHTML Errors

Post by Ted »

Cool. Though, I'm not totally convinced that it is the way to go, since you can change to bullet of a ul tag with CSS. Maybe I'm just missing something...
piratos

bulletmenu and XHTML Errors

Post by piratos »

ul and li are in my solution never used, so it is useless to present a bulletimage via css.

There ist no sulution with ul and li if separator is a feature.
Ted
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 3329
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:58 pm
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa USA

bulletmenu and XHTML Errors

Post by Ted »

Hmm... Yeah, I guess you're right. Only thing that really stinks about it is that you can't modify the indentation or anything.

Maybe we should add this as a separate menu? Call it picturemenu or something? I personally don't mind just changing it, but at the same point, I don't want to break anyone's site with backwards compatibility issues.
piratos

bulletmenu and XHTML Errors

Post by piratos »

Do what you want or you mean it's right.

What about pitbullmenu :lol: picbullmenu ??
Locked

Return to “[locked] Installation, Setup and Upgrade”