• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Spain CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [Solved] CGBlog: using " in title not possible
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:55 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:18 pm
Posts: 18
Hello,

When adding a new blog post in the backend where the title includes the character " everything seems okay... The blog post is published and listed correctly in the backend with title and content. But when opening the blogpost to make edits I realize that the Title field is empty...! (And therefor cannot be commented by readers in the frontend, that is how I found out).

Why? ???
I am quite sure I didn't cause this myself by messing around with the code...? ::)
How to fix? :-\

Using CGBlog version 1.9.8 (and CMSMS 1.11.2.1)


Last edited by joxyzhan on Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGBlog: using " in title not possible
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:19 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:18 pm
Posts: 18
Checking the templates in CGBlog and CGFeedback and googling around for answers I suspect that it could all be related to differences in snippets of code like:
Code:
{$entry->title|escape}
{$entry->title|escape:htmlall}
{$entry->title|htmlspecialchars}
{$input_comment|htmlspecialchars}
{$input_comment|html_entity_decode:$smarty.const.ENT_QUOTES}

...and such. That I (as relative newbie) cannot completely comprehend. ^-^

But those are all from templates - and my problem with the CGBlog backend Title field has to be managed "under the hood" right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGBlog: using " in title not possible
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:07 am 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 842
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Just tried on a live site of mine, because I didn't believe you ;D

But you are right O0

Seems the system truncates titles after a " mark. I checked the forge for bug reports (always worth doing) and indeed this is a known bug - that means the developer is aware:

http://dev.cmsmadesimple.org/bug/view/8142

It would help if you added a comment to that bug report stating your CMSMS version (higher than the reported bug).

In the meantime I suggest a workaround, e.g. using single quotes '


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGBlog: using " in title not possible
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:44 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:18 pm
Posts: 18
Thanks for your response Paul! Good thing you tried it yourself. :)

Yeah I changed to '' (that is a double ' ) to make it work this time... Hope the customer wont notice it ;)

Posted a comment in the bug report.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CGBlog: using " in title not possible
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:35 pm 
Offline
Power Poster
Power Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 842
Location: Maidenhead, UK
Bazinga!

Calguy has fixed and released a new version. ;D Thanks calguy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Solved] CGBlog: using " in title not possible
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:44 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 12:18 pm
Posts: 18
Three days from report to solution, great! :-*


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sumpson


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
A2 Hosting