• twitter image
  • facebook image
  • youtube image
  • linkedin image
Language: CMS Made Simple Czech CMS Made Simple France CMS Made Simple Spain CMS Made Simple Hungary CMS Made Simple Russia CMS Made Simple Netherlands

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Old CMSMS versions running on PHP 5.4?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:43 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:45 pm
Posts: 42
Hello,

I have about 20 CMSMS sites hosted with 1and1. They just sent out a notice saying they will not longer support PHP4 or PHP 5.2 and will be using PHP 5.4 as of April 1st, 2013.

I logged into the control panel on most of my accounts and they all seem to be running the latest PHP 5.4 version, even though the CMS installs go back to version 1.4.1. IS THAT POSSIBLE? Just checking.

I do have one site, that is using PHP 4 with CMSMS v1.6.1, but i ALSO have another site with PHP 5.4 and same CMS version running fine.

So my question is, can i just simply "switch" my PHP form 4 to 5.4 with an old CMSMS version, and everything work ok?

As a side note -- i do know i should upgrade all of these to a newest version for security reasons, but is that is not my question at this point. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old CMSMS versions running on PHP 5.4?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:49 pm 
Offline
Dev Team Member
Dev Team Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Posts: 7109
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada
I don't remember what was 'broken' in old versions of CMSMS wrt PHP 5.2.x . and I'm not going to go pull the code and look through every line to tell you what might break.. so YMMV.

but in short 'UPGRADE!' We don't support old versions.

_________________
Follow me on twitter
--
if you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
----------------
Don't make me angry..... you won't like me when I'm angry....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old CMSMS versions running on PHP 5.4?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:30 pm 
Offline
Forum Members
Forum Members

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:45 pm
Posts: 42
Just wanted to note that, the admin panel of my hosting company (1and1) told me i was using PHP 5 when in fact i WAS NOT. I logged in to FTP and did the PHP call to see what version it was using and most of them were using PHP4.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
A2 Hosting