[solved] Pretty url, path and news module

Help with getting the CMS CORE package up and running. This does not include 3rd party modules, PHP scripts, anything downloaded via module manager or from any external source.
Locked
Thosbk
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:56 pm

[solved] Pretty url, path and news module

Post by Thosbk »

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to CMS (only a two month user :)), and moreover, I'm french, thus my english is not very good :D

I would like to first thank you for CMS-MS: it is really great, easy-to-use and powerfull. Thanks a lot !

I have a question on which I didn't find the answer. My question is propably stupid, so I prefer to apologize in advance :)

I created a website for the association of my parents and I would like to use pretty url. For now on, I only try on my computer with a local server (MAMP on a Mac) and I faced a small problem :)

I access to my "local website" by typing
"http://localhost:8888/AssociationAFDE/CMSMS/test/"

I change the config.php file (on the root) by adding the following lines:

Code: Select all

$config['root_url'] = 'http://localhost:8888/AssociationAFDE/CMSMS/test/';
$config['timezone'] = 'Europe/Paris';
$config['default_encoding'] = 'utf-8';
$config['url_rewriting'] = 'mod_rewrite';
$config['page_extension'] = '.html';
and also add a ".htaccess" file on the root of the folder, which contains

Code: Select all

Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine on
# Rewrites urls
RewriteBase /AssociationAFDE/CMSMS/test/
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.+)$ index.php?page=$1 [QSA]
This works quite fine, in the sens that the url now appear as, for example in a child section of a parent one:
".../parents/child/blabla.html"
However ...

1) In a child section, the path are now wrong. For example, there is a picture on the top of the website which is used/called by every page (it is contained in a cms "global content block"). This picture is called by

Code: Select all

<img src="uploads/images/global/mypicture.jpg" />
In a child section, this path becomes wrong. I can't figure out how to tell CMS to search on the root and not in the "child directory". I hope to be clear ? :)

2) The news module also change the paths in a much more pretty style, but not totally. I didn't find on internet if it is possible to make it prettier. Fow now on, on a news which is entitled "Reunion-9-Janvier-2012", the adress looks like
.../news/12/65/Reunion-9-Janvier-2012/d,evenements.html
Is it possible to obtain just
.../news/Reunion-9-Janvier-2012.html
?

Thank you a lot in advance and, again, thank you for the wonderful work you have done, and that you continue to do !

Here are some informations about my computer, I hope they are sufficient:
CMS version 1.10.3
MAMP server (Mac Os X Lion) 2.0.3
Apache 2.0 Handler (local server)
PHP Version 5.3.6
Last edited by Thosbk on Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
spcherub
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:54 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by spcherub »

In response to your first question, putting a leading slash ( "/" ) in front of your path should fix the problem.

Code: Select all

<img src="/uploads/images/global/mypicture.jpg" />
If that does not work (due the specifics of your setup), you can do the following:

Code: Select all

<img src="{$root_url}/uploads/images/global/mypicture.jpg" />
-S
Thosbk
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by Thosbk »

Hi spcherub and thank you a lot for your answer !

However, it doesn't seem to work :-/

Indeed, when putting a "/" in front of the url lead to a disapearing of the picture (everywhere)...

And putting {$root_url} has no effect, even in the source code (as if it was empty)...

Thanks anyway :)
spcherub
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:54 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by spcherub »

Do you have a version of the site that is publicly accessible? If so, send me the link and I can take a look.

BTW where do you have the image referenced? It is in the template or in every page's content block?
Thosbk
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by Thosbk »

Hi,

the website is here : http://www.familles-deuil-enfant.fr/
However, the website uses the version 1.10.1 of CMSMS (I did not make the update). Moreover, I let the simple url online to let it accessible (if I put the pretty url, then some things do not work anymore as explained)

The picture I was talking about is the one at the top of the page. And sorry, the website is in french :-)
The image is called in a "global content block" which is called by a template (not by every content pages).

Thanks again.
spcherub
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:54 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by spcherub »

I took a look at the link you sent, but every page, including interior ones seem to show the image at the top of the page (as you desire). Can you send me a link where you are seeing the problem - or is that only with your local install?
Thosbk
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by Thosbk »

Yep for now I just try it on a local page.

I just made the change on line (!) so you can have a look. When it's ok, please tell me, so that I put the "working version".

Sorry for answering late: I'm still at work :-)

edit : I precise that the changes are done on line, on the website ... :-)
Thosbk
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by Thosbk »

Wait, that's funny : I put the "/" before the url of the image and it works !

I don't understand why it didn't work on my local webpage, but now it's fine on line !

Many many thanks and sorry for disturbing you !! :-)))
Thosbk
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by Thosbk »

For now on: everything is fine except for the Gallery modules. I will check, change some path and see if it's ok.

The last question I had is : is there a way to define the pretty url for the news module ?
For now, I have for example :

http://www.familles-deuil-enfant.fr/new ... fants.html

and I would like to have

http://www.familles-deuil-enfant.fr/nos ... tophe.html

Do you know if it's possible ?

Thanks again and have a good night (here in Belgium it's already the night :))
spcherub
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:54 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by spcherub »

I don't believe this is possible without modifying the code of the News module. In some cases there may be a way to simulate this behavior with the right directives in the htaccess file, but in this case there is no consistent pattern that can be leveraged.
Thosbk
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by Thosbk »

Ok :)

Thanks again and have a nice day :)

edit : I would like to put [solved] in front off my topic, however, I must be too stupid: I don't find how to do it :-/
spcherub
Power Poster
Power Poster
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:54 pm

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by spcherub »

Scroll back to the first post, then click on the "Edit" button just under it. This will allow you to edit the original post which changes the Subject.
hasanen
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:44 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Pretty url, path and news module

Post by hasanen »

There is URL field in news add/edit form at the bottom, maybe you can use that?
Thosbk
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 9:56 pm

Re: [solved] Pretty url, path and news module

Post by Thosbk »

Hi and thanks both of you :)

I changed the topic's name.

hasanen: Yup, I tryed it and it seems to work ! Thanks a lot :)
Locked

Return to “[locked] Installation, Setup and Upgrade”