Passing a parameter in a cms_selflink [solved]

For questions and problems with the CMS core. This board is NOT for any 3rd party modules, addons, PHP scripts or anything NOT distributed with the CMS made simple package itself.
Post Reply
triggersmith
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:52 am

Passing a parameter in a cms_selflink [solved]

Post by triggersmith »

I'm sure this is very simple but I can't work it out.

Let's say I have a page where I have buttons that relate to to different news categories.

News about dogs

News about cats

News about sheep


I have a news page "mynews"

with the tag {news category=x}

So when the user clicks on "News about dogs" I have a cms_selflink to mynews passing the parameter "Dogs" as x.

I hope this makes sense.

Thanks
Last edited by triggersmith on Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
NaN

Re: Passing a parameter in a cms_selflink

Post by NaN »

Why not creating a page for each category and use cms_selflink to link to that page?
In this page you can use the page alias as news category:

{news category=$content_alias}

You could also use the browsecat param to list news catgories.
Each category will be a link that displays news articels of  the selected category.

Another solution could be the param "urlparam" of the cms_selflink:

{cms_selflink page="mynews" urlparam="category=..."}

This will link to your news page with an additional variable "category".
You now can call your news like this:

{news category=$smarty.get.category}
triggersmith
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:52 am

Re: Passing a parameter in a cms_selflink

Post by triggersmith »

Thanks for your reply.

I realise I can have a page for each category but I am expecting to have 50, 100 or even more news categories.  It seems a bit silly to have that many pages with the only difference being the category.  There has to be a more elegant way of doing it.

I don't want to use the browse category option because I want the main page to be a business logo with a direct link to their news (category).

I will try you other suggestion and report back.

As an aside there seems to be soo many features of CMS MS (which I love BTW) that have very little info on how to use them, examples etc.

Like for instance the additional page parameters which I though may have been a solution here.

Thanks again, I'll get back.
Paul
triggersmith
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:52 am

Re: Passing a parameter in a cms_selflink

Post by triggersmith »

OK I think I have this nearly working but I think there is a syntax problem or something.

This is my tag

{cms_selflink page="partner-news-detail"  urlparam="category=Horses NZ" text="news"}

When I click on the news link in my browser it can't find the page.  Here is the url I get:

http://mywebsite.co.nz/index.php?page=p ... orses%20NZ

It's like there is a separator missing between the page name and the param.

What have I done wrong here.

Thanks
calguy1000
Support Guru
Support Guru
Posts: 8169
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 6:44 pm
Location: Fernie British Columbia, Canada

Re: Passing a parameter in a cms_selflink

Post by calguy1000 »

urlparam='?foo=bar'
Follow me on twitter
Please post system information from "Extensions >> System Information" (there is a bbcode option) on all posts asking for assistance.
--------------------
If you can't bother explaining your problem well, you shouldn't expect much in the way of assistance.
triggersmith
Forum Members
Forum Members
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:52 am

Re: Passing a parameter in a cms_selflink

Post by triggersmith »

calguy1000 wrote: urlparam='?foo=bar'
I worked it out actually

urlparam="&foo=bar"

worked.

I presume following this syntax I could string a bunch of parameters like this:

urlparam="&param1=x&param2=y"

etc?

Yes I can have just tried this...awesome!!!!
Last edited by triggersmith on Wed Aug 04, 2010 12:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply

Return to “CMSMS Core”